Farewells and arrival


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 13th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok.

So I guess I should start from the beginning.

I don't recall much about the 11th August. I think I was in a little bubble. I felt ok in the day and the days running up to that point but actually arriving at the airport and havng to say my farewells to family was so hard, I was socover one with this emotion that must have been building up for weeks. Even after going through security, just the thought of leaving everyone brought a lump to my throat. Nevertheless,in boarded the flight after after a long tiring journey and a number of films I arrived in Bangkok.

The sheer humidity hits you the minute you get off the plane.

Immigration was quick and painless enough and before I knew it I was in a taxi to my hostel (Nappark-if you want to look it up)

The streets of Bangkok are crazy, pink taxis, tuk tuks, motorbikes and people everywhere! It's a free for all, with no thought for road rules

350baht later I arrived on the rainy street of Thani, where the hostel is located. It a short walk from khao San road (backpacker road) so quiet enough to get some sleep...so I thought.

I had a quick wander to the 7/11 convenience store for water and the headed to khaosan road (there really is no way to describe this road- tourist trap - is all I can say, neon lights, every type of street vendor you can imagine) I had a banana and choc pancake before heading back for an early night.

The hostel is lovely and clean. I'm in a 22 bed mixed dorm, split into sets of bunks beds. on the 1st night I had 3 American girls in my bunk area who were leaving at 3am this morning for a flight to Bali, hence the lack of sleep,along with a bit of jet lag.

Im on the top bunk.

Today 2 German girls and a German lad have replaced the Americans.

I woke up around 7, had a shower and headed downstairs for some breakfast. My intention had been to visIt the grand palace and reclining Buddha and so I dressed for that. Long trousers and shirt in my bag. However whilst eating my fruit and yoghurt for breakfast I met Barbara from Poland and a lad from London. So we all decided to head out towards some of the temples.

I'll upload photos when I can get to a computer.

We were guided down this alley by a Thai who showed us a community of the last remaining 12 families who make bowls for the monks, china has since out the rest of them out of business...a bit like tescos etc

It was interesting to see

We headed back mid afternoon and stopped at a street stall for lunch, I had chicken curry. It was nice, not heavy on your stomach like in the uk.

I now back at the hostel getting ready to meet my 2 new friends to head to the night market and possibly onto the skybar to watch the sunset.

The early evening downpour has begun, tends to last around 1-2 hours. It doesn't clear the air though. Temps drop to around 28 at night.

Ibe booked the floating market for tomorrow. 250baht, pick up is at my hostel 7am (1/2 day tour) and Barbara has now booked on it too.

Money seems to be fine. Spending more than anticipated on Transport
but making up for it with the cost of food/drinks. It's so cheap!!

I apologise for the spelling/grammar but I can't see much of what I have wrote on the iPod, bear with me...

The travel towel has turned out to be a great buy, drys me and itself in seconds!!

Done a mini sink wash of some vest tops this afternoon as they were soaked from sweat!

Love to all. always in my heart and on my mind. I'm safe and well and very happy!



Xxx hugs and kisses xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement




Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb