First few days in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 23rd 2012
Published: May 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello all

Well I am here, relaxing doing little.

I started well, I told my friend who was dropping me off at the airport the wrong terminal. So instead of a nice easy drop off at T4, we had a tour of T1 and T2 before dropping me off at T3. It wasn't until I checked the departure board to find my flight wasn't on there that I re-checked my ticket to find that I had been wrong all along. After a quick train shuttle to the correct terminal, I then proceeded to get through security no problems and onto the plane.

We then missed our allocated space to leave Heathrow as several people decided that shopping was far more important than actually catching the plane. This led to us all sitting on the tarmac for 2 hours until another slot became available. All the time one of the guilty parties was happily sleeping across 4 seats. I was not an impressed bunny.

So we get to Qatar and rather than a nice 1 hour stop over, we had to wait 4 hours for the next flight.. Although this did give me a bonus of a free dinner, which I am pretty sure was Beef on fire. Well that's cetainly how my mouth felt after eating it.

No issues on getting that plane luckily so I arrived in Bangkok around midday on Monday. After a desperate search for a toilet, I took a taxi down into the Khao San. I could have tried to find the bus, but with no sleep on the plane I decided just to take the taxi and get checked in and crash for a while.

After getting some sleep I ventured out and found myself a street vendor selling Pad Thai (For this I walk all of 30 yards). Suitably filled up, I took up residence at one of the street bars and got myself what is sure to be the first of many Big Changs. Both food and beer was around the costly sum of 100 baht (2 poundish). After sitting there for a while, watching the world go by I decided it was time for bed again.

Whilst there, I was asked to look after someones beer whilst he went off to change some money. We had a quick chat after that, and I loved the fact that the first westerner I had spoken to in Thailand was called Bob, what else would it be?

Yesterday was spent wandering the streets, eating from the street vendors and drinking from the street bars. I did manage to do a good deed and returned a 50 Baht note that a Thai gentleman had dropped whilst walking in front of me. He was extremely grateful, and I felt good.

I got chatting to a kiwi guy, who had been arrested the night before, as he had decided that buying dope from a reggae bar in Bangkok was a good idea. He basically was given the choice of a 20,000 Baht fine(bribe) and be let out, or they could process him, which would probably mean the next 5 years in a thai prison. Easy choice I would say. But a warning to all stupid enough to try and do drugs whilst in Thailand.

Today is going to be another day of lazing around, reading, eating and drinking. Although I think a good portion of it may be spent by the pool. I may be jinxing everything by saying this, but so far the weather has been lovely, and apart from a single flash of lightning on Monday evening. There has been no sign of rain just yet.

There are no photos, as I have only stayed locally, and I have enough pictures of around here from the last visit.

Oh and already I have seen so many sexy men 😊 (No I am not coming out, for those of you that don't know the phrase).

Okay I'll write again soon. Have fun all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb