Best Xmas :)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 27th 2011
Published: January 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Late but anyway I would like to talk about best Xmas in my life 😊



It was spent in Saint Ursula monastery in Bangkok – for those of you who do not know I attended elementary and high school in Bratislava called St. Ursula School. The school was managed by the St. Ursula convent. At first nobody in Slovakia wanted to give me contact on anybody within the monastery in Bangkok the reason being – they are very private. Finally when I contacted sr. Siphim she was so happy to help me as well as everybody else in the convent. Contrary to Slovak monastery the one in Bangkok is opened for others and helps people in Thailand. Before Xmas I attended school ballet performance which was very professional. I attended with nuns and it was special because everybody was bowing to them and they turned to me and bowed to me as well. I love this about Thailand everybody is so respectful towards others.



On Xmas day I traveled from my place and trust me – the BTS was never so full (all Thai people decided that this is the best way to spend the day). I had some traditional food – turkey with mash potatoes with gravy, some shrimps and grasshoppers. Then we went for service – well the church was amazing. It looked like a wat and was completely opened and it was 30 degrees outside actually inside as well. There were 2000 people on the church, never seen so many people in church before. Since I came with the nuns everybody was bowing to us which made me feel very special. Thai people in stead of shaking hands bow towards each other and people from family kiss during the service.



After the service we went back and got presents 😊 I got quite few.



I discussed my plans for the week with sr. Siphim and since I was the only one having 10 days off I had to go alone. The plan was to go to Pattaya but I was told that it would be dangerous to go alone – apparently I might be kidnapped for prostitution. The sisters have summer retreat in Hua Hin and they offered me to go there for 5 days – I jumped to that because I knew that everything would
St. Ursula, Mater deiSt. Ursula, Mater deiSt. Ursula, Mater dei

My Bangkok retreat :)
be fine if I go there.



Next day I went out with sr. Siphim – we went to a different church where the mosquitoes had a feast at me. For the dinner I drank chrysanthemum tea and ate lobsters 😊 what a posh meal.



I spent two more days in the monastery – I felt revitalized, with no stress and no worries.



I will definitely be back soon, but first next adventure in Hua hin .



LET´S GO


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb