First week in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 29th 2011
Published: December 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

During my first week times were rough – getting used to the heat and waking up again early. I do not know what was worser. The heat was not as bad as everybody told me – not able to breath or live it was fine I even managed couple of walks instead of taking the MRT (metro). Do not take me wrong it is hot (over 30 degrees but the night are nice – around 24) but it is bearable but I do not know why I can not sleep properly – I wake up several times a night.



But to my work – Iam sure m friends are curious what is it that I do, who are my colleagues, how they are and whether I like the work.



To be honest I was worried when I first came, but my worries were unnecessary so far. I work in an organization PATT – Plant a tree today foundation which belongs under the Treedom group – here is a web page - http://www.pattfoundation.org/.



I will be in charge of my own project but so far I don’t know what that will be. Iam building database of schools which we can ask to for help – donations, volunteers and educational projects. Apart from the school database Iam building database of Swedish companies in Thailand which we can ask about the questions of carbon offsetting or team building (planting trees in Khao Yai) – I can not wait to visit this part of Thailand where I should soon be going.



My colleagues are the most amazing ones anyone could have. Everyday they take me out for lunch – sometimes I do not want to know what is in the food but so far it was always delicious apart from the jelly fish. The meal I love the most is the curry in coconut milk which I first time ate when I was in Criccieth and I lived with 2 Thai girls and they cooked really great meals and they taught me to cook some. During my lunch trips with my friends I even tried to teach them how to cut fish – but this is very difficult when you do not have knife (Thai people eat with fork and spoon, and noodles with spoon and chop sticks). The fish here has really amazing taste but to tell the truth the rice and the food is really amazing – people who know me know that I like different kinds of food 😊

I was told not to eat food in the street - that I might get typhoid but with my colleagues I ate where they eat and we do not go to restaurants, I even tried food on the street with them and nothing. Thai people sell food on the streets and put it in small sachets which is in my opinion quite hygienic because they touch the food only before boiling it and boiling should kill all the bacterias.





I feel very welcomed in the company and my colleagues – I think they took me among them just fine. They even took me for my first worship of Buddha (our building has a shrine on the rooftop) and another god – I do not know who it was but it looked like black tiger (its in front of our building). From the roof was amazing view of Bangkok and I haven’t even noticed how high I was.



First weekend we were at
food marketfood marketfood market

Huai Khwang
the Ploenchit Fair and it was lot of fun – do not underestimate 3 Thai margueritas and 30 degrees outside (it’s a killer combination) and after I had to get myself through half of the city home.

On Sunday I decided to explore around my house - I managed to go through area which creeped me out a little bit - lot of grass, trees which looked like Lunik IX a little bit in its better years. Bangkok fascinates me but I am all the time affraid that there will something jump out at me from somewhere. With my phobia of dogs this is like free therapy for me because dogs are literaly everywhere. I really meant it that I have never in my life seen a cocroach and I hope that after a year in Thailand it will remain the truth however I doubt that.

I found that there is a market not far from where I live - you can buy whatever you want there - open meatmarket, seafood market where the fish managed to run away and one of them almost jumped into my bag and I almost got a heart attack which might sound
Market in Huai KhwngMarket in Huai KhwngMarket in Huai Khwng

musles - I dont know whether I would be able to eat that
funny but at that time it was not.



But the second weekend will be more fun because Iam going to Koh Samet 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb