More impressions from Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 8th 2005
Published: April 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Khao San at NightKhao San at NightKhao San at Night

Blurry photo #1
Not too much has happened since my last blog entry, but since I'm at an internet cafe I may as well update. Emily showed up at 12:30 last night and we all crashed until about 7:30. So we got up and went for breakfast. I had some Phad Thai and I hated it, I still managed to eat a lot of it though. I just didn't like the peanuty taste it had. The tofu and sprout part of it was edible though. I also had a fried rice version of it, instead of noodles, so maybe that had something to do with it. Who knows, I doubt I'll try it again.

After breakfast we meandered around the streets for ahwile. It felt good just to walk around, and get away from the hustle and bustle of Khaosan Rd. Not that there isn't hustle and bustle elsewhere, cause there is, just not of the tourist variety. All three of us ended up going to a beauty salon and getting some face compression wash thingy. They basically soaped up our faces and then sucked it all away with a vacuum like tube to clear all the pores. It felt pretty nice, although
Khao San at NightKhao San at NightKhao San at Night

Blurry Photo #2
a bit awkward as I was the only guy getting this done. But it was only 50 bhat for a process that took about 20 minutes. Not bad, not bad. Tuk Tuk drivers are pretty much the only annoyance so far, constantly asking for you to take a ride, more so then the men trying to sell you a suit. But that's really a minor complaint and hasn't spoiled any of the trip so far.

We're going to go see a Muay Thai boxing match this evening. I'm looking forward to that, nothing like seeing people beat each other up. Then tomorrow morning from 7:00AM-1:00 PM we're going out to see the river market and a few other things. We arranged that while we were at a travel center organizing our Cambodian visa. We'll probably stay in Bangkok until mid next week before heading down south. We're going to be going to Ko Phangan, that's about all I know.

Alright, that's all for now.

Ciao

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb