Thailand planning confusions...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 5th 2011
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, because my trip is so long, before I left I did do quite a bit of researching about general activities and locations i wanted to visit on my travels and I purposely decided to leave the future somewhat unwritten. In europe it proved to be quite awesome nearing the end when i made some spontaeous discisions to go to Prague and also Dresden. With thailand things are a little different so far. I again only booked my first hostel and yesterday I was TOTALLY stuck trying to figure out where to go. I guess the thing is that there's not enough hostels or a run out of ideas, the problem, if you can really call it that, is there is SOOO MUCH I want to do here that I canNOT decide what's happening first!!

My options are, go to a completely different country like Cambodia, Loas, or Vietnam,
go up north and experience jungles, trekking, hill-tribes, cooking schools, swimming, national parks with amazing waterfalls, river rafting etc
or
go to any number of available islands! so you can only imagine, for someone like me who is rediscovering her absolute LOVE of outdoor activities, I am SCREWED for the better! =D

my plan was to go west to an amazing national park and then head over to Cambodia where I then meet my friends on a missions trip in Cambodia in about 2 and a half weeks, but the thing about that is there are only so many places to stay out there and for some reason they seem to be in 2 people bookings.... where are you doing in the next few days friend? 😉 haha, no but really. instead of paying like $6 for a night, I would probably have to book for two people. Man, that's SOo much money!! (HAAAAAAAAA!! that's cheaper than one night for one person in western Europe...) SO, because I don't want to inflict lonely thoughts upon myself with an empty bed, Im thinking of heading up the Chiang Mai. The train will be $25 (about the price of a reservation for a train in Europe after you've already spent $1200 on a Eurail pass...) and then my accomdations will be this suuuuper cute hostel/guesthouse called the little bird guesthouse. With a name like that, how couldn't it be cute right? well, that is going to cost me. Cost me $12... ... ... for 4 nights.... HAHAHAHAHAHAH!!! you thought I was going to say, per night right?! HAHahahaha, oh I got you. 😉 no, but really.... $12 for 4 nights! NUUUUTS!
Then for after that little adventure in the city of Chiang Mai, theres this other hostel I found an hour out of town called the Nature Lodge which is juuust up my alley! They do some neato adventureous things being out in NAture and all.

Im thinking this is going to be amazing heading to the jungle. On my flight from London to India I watched a movie about water and how it has effected civilizations and then from India to Thailand, I watched one about Jungle tribes. Heres just a hint of how nuts I am about jungle tribes/jungle lifestyle: when I was watching this documentary, i found myself tearing up THREE TIMES. I held myself back because I realized, I was on a plane... with other people... watching a documentary about the jungle... I thought it was absolutely fantastic! its such a beautiful life! I could go on and on and on and on but that's not really what I want to talk about right now. maybe later. BUT that's just the thing, once I experience it again after my trip to Panama last year, I don't think I'll EVER EVER EVER be able to shut up about it!! infact, Im thinking QUITE A BIT about any way I could possibly live in one for maybe even just a month while I'm here. My dad mentioned me working up there.... haha. maybe something he'll regret mentioning later because I'm not sure I'll remember to come home. 😉
that being said, I did warn you, so if you never do hear from me again, just send a helicopter out into the jungles of Panama and look for the whitest tanned person out there and you would have found me.

wow.

you lost me, or I lost myself there in thought.

so, I'm going to go now...

make a list of any way I might be able to incorperate myself into the jungle in the most natural way possible considering I don't speak any thai or any hill-tribe language...

well,

I'll be back later...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb