Thailand, my first impressions.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 5th 2011
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

so guys, I'm in THAILAND!
its interesting because i find for a lot of hard-core-like travelers say that this is a must-go location.
W'ell I've been here for 2 days now. I'm not sure the first day even really counted because i was jet lagged, man was i jet lagged. Yesterday, I ended up leaving my hostel in london at 545am and arrived at the next hostel in Bangkok at 930am. If you consider that there was 25 hours in between with no more than an hour of sleep, I was done. If you also consider that that night i went to bed at 2 am, I was also quite spent today. haha.
Around 2pm yesterday, I did end up going to the weekend market yesterday with an english friend i made at my hostel and i have to say, OH MY GOSH! it was like the biggest market I've ever experienced. I swear, just my love for markets would persuade me to live in Bangkok just for the weekends (maybe minus the month of April where things really heat up)
For me, the livability of this city at this point is obviously uncertain. Throughout these last two months I've had a lot of thoughts pondering the lets-not-go-home side of things... So questioning livability is totally relevant 😉 BUT, heres what I have seen of this place so far is this:
smells, lots of smells. Humidity, not completely unbareable in least...SO FAR... A fair amount of heat, i believe it was about 27 degrees today, but tell me that's fine when you've had that all day plus humidity. There are people, quite a few people, but, so far, not as many as there are on oxford street near Primarks on a saturday. Decay, buildings are either half built or half broken, I can't tell. Rain, its monsoon season which can mean quite a bit of rain all of a sudden, from a brief shower to an intense downpour, Markets, lots of markets and street vendors, and you know in Vancouver where theres like a market of some street vendors, that like comparing an ant to an ant eater... yeahh... it clearly wipes the other one off the face of the planet. Food, oh I haven't mentioned the food. Okay, so picture going to a really good thai food restaurant. Now imagine that everyday at your complete disposal for about less then $2 per meal... I love thailand. I think the most variety in any item I've experienced so far was definitely in the food. There are street vendors, street restaurants, and street, food, markets. The difference being, 'buy my fruits and veggies' to 'buy my barbequed fish, steamed rice, fried meat, sweet and sour balls, or coconut juice (note: straight from the coconut)' to 'buy my meals (and sit down at like a picnic table or plastic chairs in the middle of where-ever under a tarp or large umbrellas, and pay just about nothing for a meal cooked infront of your face in less than 5 minute)' yeah, i do love Thailand.
I can't currently recall much else, but I'm sure since tomorrow is another day, there is going to be plenty more variety of life to share with all you loyal, consistant readers to a not so loyal, consistant blog. =P haha. (I hope the dates and locations and posts aren't too confusing in terms of order of events!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb