My man, you want ping-pong show?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 17th 2011
Published: June 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"My man, let me take you ping pong show!"

Those were the first words spoken to me (and again 20ft down the street) as I got out of my cab at Khao San Road (the backpacker hangout). Maybe wandering around as a tired and lost looking young guy wasn't the best idea...

Rewinding to when I left on Wednesday, after the pre-departure briefing from my parents the night before, they dropped me off at CLE for my first of 3 flights. The flight to Toronto went well, just a quick hop over Lake Erie. However, the flight from Toronto to Tokyo was literally the longest 12 hours of my life. I watched 3 movies (Hallpass, Just Go With It, The Mechanic), took 3 naps in between, ate 3 meals...it was like being stuck in a dentist's chair for 12 hours; just awful. The last flight from Tokyo to Bangkok was actually very pleasant. Thai Airways definitely has there shit together w/ comfy seats and great food.

The crowded street full of travelers, food carts, clothing stands, etc. made it a bit rough to lug my duffle-on-wheels (Thanks Ralphie) and I probably looked every bit the part of the stupid American. Eventually, I made it to the D&D inn if only because they had the biggest sign on the street.

After checking in, I settled down in my room for a few minutes before heading out to do a bit of exploring around the area. Basically, Khao San Road is like the Bourbon Street of Bangkok...anything goes. I didn't really have the energy to get into the bar scene, so I went to 7-11 for a road beer as I wandered around. Wandering up and down the streets I saw pretty much everything you'd expect from a large Asian city...food carts of fried bugs, people speeding around on mopeds, fake rolexes for sales, thai hookers, the whole shebang. Eventually I got tired of the whole ping-pong show sales pitch I was getting every 10 steps so I headed back to my room thinking "Do I really look like a guy that'd be into that?"

Up early this morning for no reason, so I headed to the rooftop pool to chill and read until I had to checkout. After that, I headed to the mobile phone store and after waiting almost an hour behind some cockney English wankers, the guy had just sold out and told me to come back in 2 hours. So that leaves me here...killing time while I wait to get a phone.

Hopefully the phone sitch works itself out before I have to go get on a train tonight to head down to the islands. Should be about a 9hr overnight ride, then I hop on a ferry for a 2hr ride to Koh Tao. Saying I'll be happy to finally be there would be like saying I'm only mildly amused by LeBron's collapse in the NBA Finals.



Advertisement



18th June 2011

yo yooo travel hoe
hi bro bro! I am so glad that you have had an interesting time so far. You are going to have a great time! Be safe and enjoy yourself, you deserve it! xo- poob

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb