The Jim Thompson House


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 17th 2011
Published: May 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jim Thompson HouseJim Thompson HouseJim Thompson House

Jim Thompson made the Thai silk industry what it is today. His house is really several traditional Thai homes put together.
It's my last day in Bangkok and the last day of my 37 day trip. I really only have half a day, since I deliberately relaxed in our hostel room until check-out time and we're leaving for the airport around 330pm. For my last adventure in the city, I decided to visit the Jim Thompson house. I admit it wasn't on my list of things to see originally, but the man I met in the park a few days ago highly recommended it.

Jim Thompson was an American entrepreneur and founder of the Jim Thompson Thai Silk Company. He is credited for making Thai silk popular and well-known around the world, thus reviving the industry. In 1967 he was on holiday with some friends in Malaysia; he went for a hike and never returned. There are many theories as to why he never came back, but the most popular seems to be that it had to do with his military days during WWII and his connections with the CIA.

His house was like something out of a story you'd hear as a child. He took several traditional Thai houses and combined them into one large one, melding Thai and
Heated seatHeated seatHeated seat

Coals went inside this hollow chair and heat would seep out the holes.
western cultures. The home somehow perfectly balanced the ideas of lavish and simple, artistic and comfortable. Even though it's in the middle of the city, it's nestled in a jungle of its own and backs up to a still-used waterway. Because of the surroundings, it seems miles away from the chaos I associate with daily life in Bangkok. It is a wonderful, personal, private utopia.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Living roomLiving room
Living room

I love this house.
Monk Waiting RoomMonk Waiting Room
Monk Waiting Room

sign in airport


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb