Welcome to Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 16th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I arrived on Suday night at around 18:00. I didn’t know what to expect but was still pleasantly surprised! I was meant to meet Rivaan and travel with him to our guesthouse, but I think we (me definitely) realised just how large the international arrivals terminal is. So we ended up making our own way to the the guesthouse. Was an interesting drive through the streets of Bangkok and my F1 taxi driver. Wow... I know I am normally a paranoid pasenger so I will say that I placed my complete trust in this guy and we arrived safely! All I can say is that I will NEVER drive a scooter around this city as it is a guaranteed death wish - that’s when they’re actually driving on the road and not along the sidewalks!
The guesthouse was fine - Thai Cozy House, I had aircon and bottled water in the room so I was happy! After 2 days of traveling I really needed to shower and was pleasantly surprised with a shower located just above my toilet! It was fabulous! Made my way down to the internet cafe and was able to Skype the family to say that I had arrived safely! After my much needed chat, I went to bed. Bed hadn't been serviced and there were a lot of random hairs located all over the sheets as well as the odd bug! TIT (This Is Thailand!).

Monday morning, Rivaan and I met for breakfast (fried eggs on toast - original I know!) and then caught a taxi to what was going to become out accommodation for the next month. We met the other 32 trainees and were given an induction on the course and then taken on to the centre. It's about a 15 minute walk along back alleys and past many food stalls and hyena looking dogs. Bangkok is dirty and it smells but it doesn't stop you being totally amazed at your surroundings! It really is incredible! We all made ourselves comfortable and all spent a moment introducing ourselves and telling part of our story. It's quite a diverse group of all South Africans and I think we're going to have a lovely time together! Lunch was provided for those of us who were still a bit nervous to go out and buy food off the streets. I'm constantly being amazed at the prices of the food here. It's incredible. The on ly frustrating part is that I've lost my appetite in this heat! After all the food I ate on my flight I haven't been hungry since. I have however had a green chicken curry - Yummmy!
We were let off for the day early for those of us to get familiar with the place. I needed a pillow and towels and so made my way to the Tesco Lotus across the street. What a shop! We can buy everything and anything there, it's incredible! So I ended up going back there at about 21:30 to buy pegs and coat hangers. Met up with a few of the ladies from the course on my way back to Pin Tip (apartment building) and joined them for Rooibos and Green tea. Was bery pleasant. The atmosphere in that place is awesome. I'm sitting here now as I type this and the owner is incredibly hospitable. He produces plates of sliced up mango, dried honeyed banana and jugs of iced water. It's fabulous.

Today was spent at the course centre and was our first day of actual lessons. A photographer came and took photo's of us for extra pocket money. He could place us as extra's in movies/add's etc. We've been informed that we will only be able to get a teaching job that starts on the 15th of May which means we definitely need to be making extra cash as our money has to last us an extra month now.

It seems that I wasn't the only one who's not too impressed with my agent after some discussions in class today. One day I hope they'll catch a wake up and realise that they are offering a service and technically they need to rely on us for references.... well apparently!
Well that's my bitching session out the way. We're all in this together and are going to try to make the most of what comes!

I'm about to eat my dinner now - Thai Omelete with prawns and miso soup.

Ciao Ciao All!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb