BKK on Your ZIPPER


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 21st 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Strong IslandsStrong IslandsStrong Islands

These were Meneers.
SO I have been bouncing in and out of Bangkok more often than than the taxi drivers say "ping pong show, ping pong show". This is my third time here, it is so HUMID.
I am exhausted. It was Dean's 21st last night and hence we missed our flight to Penang this morning. I am such an idiot! I am so annoyed with myself, I set the alarm and everything but I think I needed a division from the US armed forces to wake me up. So we are catching the next bus our of here down the coast to Kho Phanang island off the east coast. We were supposed to be meeting my wonderful Dutch friends down in Penang but I messed that one up. So sorry guys.
Alright, well Bangkok. Staying in the Khoa San Road area, pretty crazy place to say the least. My brother actually summed it up well by saying 'you get a tailor shop then a bar, then a internet cafe then a travel agency and repeat'. You also have fruit vendors, phad thai ladies, tuk tuk drivers trying to entice you to watch ping pong tournaments, book shops and t shirt shops. I like
Khoa San RoadKhoa San RoadKhoa San Road

Just some thugs with Chang Beers
it but two or 3 days of it is all I can really handle.
After having a fairly adventurous night out in the RCA area with Ryan trying to scout out potential places to take Dean on his birthday we arrived at the airport. It was 2am, I had no shoes on due to the fact that I managed to jump in a mud pool whilst climbing over a wall by the freeway. We just walked in straight through security(the guard made a half hearted effort to stop us) then the opposite way through customs and to Dean's baggage claim area. So good to have my little brother with me. We got back grabbed a beer, shot the shoot for a bit and then passed out.
Next day went to the weekend market with over 15,000 stalls. Madness. It was so hot and there were so many people. They had everything at this place. Caught the sky train back.
Went out that night, almost lost to a girl in pool until she scratched on the black (thank goodness). Went to Lava club and danced a bit with Lobby.
Had a very nice American breakfast for Deans birthday. We then went
The West BrothersThe West BrothersThe West Brothers

Can't get any better! (in the taxi from the airport)
to the Grand Palace where they made us sport these ridiculous long pants. Amazing place. Truly amazing. Tons of beautifully crafted buildings and statues and everything. It sort of looked like a massive amusement park made out of colourful churches and gold monkeys. Saw the famous Emerald Buddha dating back to the 1400's. Then went to Wat Pho, the oldest and largest Wat in BKK. Had this massive reclining Buddha there. 48 meters long.
Dean and I then went for "traditional" Thai massages in the Wat itself. Ok, I have had a couple of massages here in Thailand and this was not an enjoyable experience by a long shot. The lady asked me where I felt sore and I stupidly told her my lower back and therefore she managed to make it a lot more sore. She pushed so hard. Dean had a guy doing his so I think he was even worse off than me. He said that at one stage he just started crying from the pain. We thought about getting a massage afterwards to sort ourselves out after that massage that we got. No time. Went to a park for a bit afterwards and saw hundreds of
Really Big BuddhaReally Big BuddhaReally Big Buddha

Over 30 meters high.
these thai people doing aerobics together, very amusing.
I think I'll right about the night some other time, or maybe not. I am so hungry, time for Indian food.
Oh and Ryan is leaving us for a bit to visit his Canadian lover in Laos. Lekker lekker.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

King Rama IXKing Rama IX
King Rama IX

This guy is everywhere in BKK. On the money, every second st corner, peoples houses, restaurants etc
Pretty Crazy Lookin Gold ThingPretty Crazy Lookin Gold Thing
Pretty Crazy Lookin Gold Thing

IN the Grand Palace area, really amazing structure.
Gold Monkey MenGold Monkey Men
Gold Monkey Men

Sporting my new Drunken Monkey shirt.
Gold GlassGold Glass
Gold Glass

That gold bell thing was covered in million s of gold pieces of painted glass.
Just don't DO IT.Just don't DO IT.
Just don't DO IT.

The guard caught Dean doing it in the Emerald Buddha wat.
Tuk TukTuk Tuk
Tuk Tuk

Ohhhh Tuk Tuk's
Reclining BuddhaReclining Buddha
Reclining Buddha

MASSIVE. In Wat Pho.
Painful ExperiencePainful Experience
Painful Experience

It was no laughing matter, in fact Dean literally cried.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Deanie boys.
Soi CowboySoi Cowboy
Soi Cowboy

Dodgy place, perfect.


22nd March 2006

Mmm West boys.
I love how Dean is all neat and tidy and Lloyd is completely disheveled. You can tell who's been traveling and who hasn't... Happy Birthday Dean!
22nd March 2006

hmm?!
I've to say; the first two photo's a pretty freakin me off.. you look georgious on the others of course.. love, Reinanke

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb