My Kinda Place- Khao San Road


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am now traveling alone. My Canadian friend is learning Muai Thai down in the south, and my American friend went back to China. Fortunately, it's hard to feel lonely in Bangkok.

Currently, I am staying in the tourist paradise of Khao San Road. Cheap accommodation (200 baht), cheap street food (25 baht for egg phad thai), free live music (if you loiter on the street near a bar).

Loads of people from all over. I've talked with Israelis, South Africans, Canadians, Americans, Aussies, Brits, Liberians, Sikh fortune tellers..... My favorite people here are the Nepali tailors. Once I say "nomashkar" and "naam ki oh?" we get along wonderfully. They are good for advice on where to go in Bangkok. Today, one of them saw me on the street, and (as a way of introduction) asked me if I was from India. Once-month beard, my punjabi shoes, and a green bandanna on the head, and the Jedi Mind Trick continues.

There is a sensory overload from the food, the music, the heat, the traffic, and the vendors. I can buy anything on the street, from one of those "singing frogs" to a fake ID.

Last night I rocked out to Thai covers of some of my favorite songs- Purple Haze, Baba O'Reilly, A Whole Lotta Love, Enter Sandman......truly awesome....


Expect pictures soon, I have acquired a digital camera.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Nothing More to SayNothing More to Say
Nothing More to Say

Although if you need ID, you can buy a fake one about six meters away.


24th January 2010

Bangkok
the road to Angor Wat in Cambodia is just finished being paved, one day trip there, you could spend days there, then back to Thailand..I am more glad that you stayed than I can even express. Without Thailand, the whole East just would be missing something magical.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb