Phuket Ponderings


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
January 18th 2010
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Here in beautiful Phuket (the 'p' is pronounced with an aspirated sound, like "peanut" with more stress.)

The people smile beautifully in Thailand. So far, I've learned the essentials of the language- Swatikrap, kap gom kap, mei oh kap, gooey-ah - hello, thank you, I don't want, and peanut.

The culture shows allot of Chinese and Vedic influence. At a restaurant yesterday, there was a carving of Siva sitting in between two lions. Siva is everywhere in India, and all important buildings in China are guarded by the lion couple. However, unlike both China and India, the people do not spit here. It's a shame, I've rather enjoy the constant spitting.

Thais range in complexion from the pale-as-Turks to the dark-as-Africans.

The television offered by my hotel is great! Everything from Korean and Vietnamesse, to CTV9 (in English), German, French, Spanish.... And they have Al-Jazeera English on Chanel 10, Chanel 9 is Fox News.

The beach at Patong is awesome. White sand, shallow waters. I can go out about 100 meters before I get in over my head. I go no farther, because I honor my mother's commands.

According to my Canadian friend Thailand has become much more expensive in the last three years. The problem is that we must compete (with our Chinese salaries) with European tourists. Their freakishly strong currency ruins the market for the rest of us. It would be great if there was a travel destination in Asia available only to Americans, Canadians, Kiwis, Auzzies, Israelis, Japanese.... well everybody but the Europeans. Alas, the market dictates the impossibility of such an arrangement.

Back to BK in a couple of days then off to.........

I'll will keep you posted!

Advertisement



18th January 2010

dad and I have a guess about where you will be off to....
18th January 2010

travel
your grandparents loved Thailand and Laurie and I traveled from Bancock to Chaig Mi on thr train. enjoy love grandpal Al.
24th January 2010

Thailand
Brendan...Did you know that Brad and Martha were in Thailand for a few years ago? I remember Brad being most impressed with Dunkin Donuts - this was after they had been on a remote island in the Philippines. They traveled from there to Chiang Mai and Ankor Wat ( sorry for spelling). They were also there during the most recent Thai coup d'etat. Pretty much a non-event there but pretty stressful back here in the States. Enjoy your time there (sounds like you have that down to a system).

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb