In Bangkok....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 18th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me and the lads...Me and the lads...Me and the lads...

We have just passed!
Dear all,
It has only been two days since I last wrote but life has pretty hectic. After my last blog about passing my Instructor exams Dan and I went out and partied with the three lads that were on my course. It was a messy night as neither of us have had any alcohol in weeks, but after so much studying and then the three days of exams I felt like a huge weight had been lifted from my shoulders and it was so nice to relax!

We were up bright and early the next morning and our heads did not feel so bad. We packed up our room and said goodbye to everyone and then caught the afternoon boat. During the past year we have spent nearly six months on the small island of Koh Tao and so it felt very strange to be leaving. It's not the easiest place to live but you get used to the cold water showers, constant power cuts and lack of Starbucks!

So we made it back to the mainland and then waited six hours at the train station for the night train. At 9am this morning we pulled into Bangkok station and then had the usual battle with taxi drivers who eventually got us to our hotel. We dropped off our bags and went straight to Pantip Plaza where we bought our laptop from nine months ago. We took it to the service centre and they had fixed it within five minutes. Afterwards we wandered round the centre but I hated it. It was noisy, there were loads of people and I just wanted to be back on the island. I have also been wearing shoes today which is a strange feeling!

So now I am back in the safety of our room and the bath is running...my first bath in three months and first hot water too! Dan has gone to use the sauna as that is what he has been longing for. We have three nights here in Bangkok, I want to do some shopping but it might have to be done late at night when there are less people around. We fly early on Tuesday morning to Singapore and jump straight on another plane for the last flight home....

Some interesting facts:
Our trip will have lasted 51 weeks, 358 days, we will have been on 25 flights and slept in 46 different beds!

Love to you all
Wendy
xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb