Bangkok cont...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 14th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting in the internet cafe and just had a real deluge. Although i've convinced myself it is a little cooler it's definately not less humid. Now i've started to get a sense of direction around Bangkok I spent today walking (Khao San Rd - Grand Palace). Although it must only be a few hundred metres the heat was horrible and after a couple of hours in the sun I was desperate to get back to the room for a cold shower. The Palace is very grand and houses the Emerald Buddah (makes a change from all the gold ones i've been seeing) and everything is gold and twinkly. Only shortfall is that you are expected to wear shirt and trousers. As such I can't say it was very bearable. Khao San is backpacker haven with everyone out to make a buck from the tourists. Stalls are packed all the way down the street on either side selling everything. I plan to walk down it again tonight when it's all lit up and hopefully a little cooler.

Met Jonny today who has helped me to plan the next week or so. Although originally I planned to head south, instead i've decided to see some of the north aswell. Tomorrow we head to Kananchaburi where there is a famous Tiger Temple where monks look after the tigers and keep them fed enough so that they don't mind you getting close enough to touch them... I'll see if i'm feeling brave enough! I am there for two nights and then head to Chang Mai for another five nights to stay with a local tribe and do some trekking. A friend of mine really recommended this. I have been promised there will be opportunities to do some elephant riding and white water rafting too.

I am leaving Bangkok tomorrow morning and presume there will be internet access in Kananchaburi. Don't get too worried i've been eaten by a tiger if you don't hear anything from me straight away!! Hope all is well back home and miss you lots xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb