Thailand: Matt and Maud's Wedding


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 26th 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to ThailandWelcome to ThailandWelcome to Thailand

This was my favorite welcome sign out of the whole 4 months.
After Paris I headed for Thailand. It was a huge shock leaving in snow and arriving in 80 degree humidity. For the next ten days we traveled around Bangkok, flew to Phuket Island for New Years, spent a lot of time at the beach, experienced native customs, spent two nights in the nicest hotel I have ever seen, attended both a westernized wedding for Matt and Maud in Phuket and then a Buddhist wedding for them in Bangkok.

It was the most amazing trip I have ever taken. I want to thank my parents for making the whole thing possible. I will always remember that spectacular time we spent together in such a strange part of the world.

I apologize for the late posting, school and skiing have taken over my life right now, but I hope you like the pictures anyway.

For everyone out there that is thinking of taking a trip, DO IT!!! Study abroad if you are in college; take some time off if you are working, but whatever you do get out of the United States for awhile, I guarantee it will change your life.

Thanks for sticking with me through my travels. You will be hearing from me occasionally after an epic ski trip or backpacking trip and after I graduate you will be able to keep track of my travels through South America.

Nos Vemos,
PHIL


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

MaudMaud
Maud

Maud really wanted to have a sunset in her wedding pictures and she got it. We were all a little scared because the day before it poured, but luckily it cleared up for the big day.
Water CeremonyWater Ceremony
Water Ceremony

This was the Buddhist ceremony in Bangkok. The bride and groom put circles of string, that are connected, around each of their heads and they kneel with their hands in a prayer position. Everyone whom desires, can walk up and poor holy water over their hands and give them a blessing for their marriage.
Maud's familyMaud's family
Maud's family

Say hello to our new family.
Dinner CruiseDinner Cruise
Dinner Cruise

One of the last nights Mom, Dad, Steph and I took a dinner cruise from a hotel nearby. It was excellent food and the shows were really fun to watch. This is a dance/folk story where the monkeyman is trying to stop the Fishwoman from destroying a town.
ParentsParents
Parents

Samok is very smart, he makes all his money in the U.S. and spends it in Thailand. This is his amazing house in a gated community of Bangkok. He just recently put in a hot tub with a creek running through it.
BeachesBeaches
Beaches

These were the beaches we stayed around, on Phuket Island, while we were not staying at the Mariott.
Tuk Tuk Ride in BangkokTuk Tuk Ride in Bangkok
Tuk Tuk Ride in Bangkok

This was the funnest taxi ride I've ever taken. We were all trying to get back from a night bazaar (sort of like a flea market) and we decided a tuk tuk would be the best and cheapest way. Mom didn't like the ride very much, she was saying prayers and closing her eyes most of the way. But I know Dad liked it, he had a grin from ear to ear the whole time. It was quite an experience.
Tuk Tuk on Phuket IslandTuk Tuk on Phuket Island
Tuk Tuk on Phuket Island

The Tuk Tuk's in Bangkok were alot scarier than these were. This is how all of the Tuk Tuks on Phuket island looked.
5 Star Mariott5 Star Mariott
5 Star Mariott

This is just one example of the lavish set up the Mariott had.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

We hiked up to this waterfall above a Monkey reserve. Dale, Matt, and I found a spot to jump off the waterfall about 20 ft. up. It was alot of fun.
My BuddyMy Buddy
My Buddy

This was my buddy; Noone's cousin.
Riding my buddyRiding my buddy
Riding my buddy

This was really cool to get up close and feel the rough hair on the elephants head and ride it like the natives.
Prayer LanternsPrayer Lanterns
Prayer Lanterns

As we were in the back of the Tuk Tuk driving to Patong beach for New Years, we saw tons of lights in the sky and we couldn't figure out what it was until we got on the beach and saw that they were paper prayer lanterns. There must have been close to 500 of them in the air, it was really cool to see. Some even had fireworks on the end to help them gain altitude.


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb