Ten Days of Travel


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 11th 2006
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Eiffel Tower Light ShowEiffel Tower Light ShowEiffel Tower Light Show

Every hour on the hour the Tower flickers with white lights for about ten minutes. It scared us the first time.
After my semester ended in Granada I skied a day at the Sierra Nevada ski resort and then took an overnight train to Barcelona. On that train I met a group of Australians who were also going to Barcelona, we hit it off right away so we got a Hostel together and spent the next two days connected at the hip.

Barcelona was a really cool city. It was very large and busy, and pretty expensive. We visited the Picasso museum, the Sagrada familia, and the Park Guell. AND YOU HAD TO PAY FOR TAPAS!!! I was very disapointed.

After Barcelona, my first stop was Andorra which is a small mountainous country on the Boarder of Spain and France. There was no tax in the country of Andorra so the streets were lined with high-end clothing and electronic stores and the grocery stores had sections just for huge cases of cigarettes and large bottles of booze. The hostel was $14 and the ski rental was $8... I loved it. I met a guy in the hostel that was from Ohio and is teaching English in France, he was hitch-hiking around for his vacation time and ended up in Andorra.
Eiffel TowerEiffel TowerEiffel Tower

It was unreal to be underneath the Eiffel Tower.
He was a funny guy because he vowed to never live in the U.S. again. I got to hear some pretty interesting views from him. The skiing was really bad because it hadn't snowed in about a month, however I did get fresh tracks(it took alot of searching but they were there).

After Andorra, I went to Geneva Switzerland by train. I expected to be able to get in at night and then ski the next day and head to Paris on the night train, like I had done in Andorra, but when I got to the bus station in the morning they said it was a ten hour bus ride to the resort and back. Seeing as I had to pick up Jessica the next day in Paris, I had to make one of the hardest decisions of my life. Ski or meet a girl at the bus station in Paris...? I chose the bus station....

The next three days we toured around Paris seeing all the sights; Eiffel tower, Louvre, Arc de Triumph and Notre Dame. It was an amazing Christmas.

On the 27th I flew out of Paris, an hour late due to snow
Notre DameNotre DameNotre Dame

It wasn't as big as it looks in the Disney movie, but it was still cool to see.
and landed in Thailand in 80 degree humidity. Talk about a climate change.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

LouvreLouvre
Louvre

So many works of art so little time.
Arc De TriumphArc De Triumph
Arc De Triumph

Surrounding the Arc there is a large roundabout, I wanted to run the guantlet but luckily I was persuaded to take the tunnel.
Jessica and I Jessica and I
Jessica and I

From the top of the Arc De Triumph.
Aussie FriendsAussie Friends
Aussie Friends

My Australian friends and I on top of the Park Guell. They were good people from Wagga Wagga.
Park GuellPark Guell
Park Guell

My favorite part of Barcelona.
Park GuellPark Guell
Park Guell

These houses looked like they were supposed to be in some forest made out of gingerbread.
Park GuellPark Guell
Park Guell

Love those houses and check out the view.
Close-up Close-up
Close-up

Godi liked this technique of piece by piece ceramic art.
Godi BenchGodi Bench
Godi Bench

This is suppose to be the longest continuous bench in the world. And it was suprisingly comfortable for a cement bench.
Underneath the PlateauUnderneath the Plateau
Underneath the Plateau

The entire bench area is actually one story high, this is one of the pieces of art underneath the park.
Sagrada FamiliaSagrada Familia
Sagrada Familia

I wander if they will ever finish building this incredible church.
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
Switzerland

This is just one example of what Switzerland was like. This is a Ford GT and a Lamborghini Diablo right next to eachother.


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb