One Night in Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Koh San Rd BucketsKoh San Rd BucketsKoh San Rd Buckets

that one was gin and tonic!
Think they wrote a song about that didn't they... one night in Bangkok??? Anyway as usual I decided to leave my nice little island paradise of Ko Chang and head back to Bangkok again for a few more days. Besides my liver couldn't cope with anymore drinking, if my memory serves me right (and I can tell you its still a bit blurred) I don't think I made it to bed before 4am for about six nights in a row.. crazy times hey but great fun!

As luck would have it the same night I got back into Bangkok so did about 8 other people I had met prior and as usual (code of the backpackers and thanks to facebook) drinks were in order... Long story short it was possibly the biggest night I've had yet... At one stage I was actually patting the trunk of a real elephant at about 3am in the morning on the side of the road... no joke, I'm serious. Anyway I'm trying to get hold of the photo.. If I can I'll post it in my next blog... stay tuned.

Now this is not meant to be a drinking blog but it would be wrong of me not to present it as it is.. and last week was mental. For those that are interested we found out about this local (not touristy) night club area called RCA (30mins away from Koh San Rd via taxi) were 7 clubs are all linked together and all the locals go. Basically once you get into one, there’s a corridor linking them all... thousands of people all in party mode... crazy I tell you.. crazy. Then as luck would have it (not) the next day was both Chinese New Year and Australia Day on the same nite.... can you believe it. Don't worry I stepped up and celebrated both simultaneously. Long story short I had to get out of there again and decided to find another island, if nothing else for the sake of my liver.

I had heard really good things about this cool little island called Ko Lanta (south of Phuket) and decided that was the go. I arrived her yesterday after 11hrs on a train (check out the pics it was a sleeper train overnight, pretty cool) 7 hours on a bus and a further 2 hours taxi ride.. It sounds like a lot of mucking around but I've got the time and all that only cost about $30AUD to get there.

So far so good but I'll give you all a proper summary in the next couple of days. All I know so far is it seems to have a very high concentration of Swedish tourists... so i'm off to the beach! As usual some more random photos attached for your interest.

Cheers, Island Dog.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb