Koh Chang Sunsets (via Crazy Bangkok)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 21st 2009
Published: January 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok, WOW what a crazy place to visit! It’s on 24rs a day, the intensity reminds me of New York, it doesn't seem to sleep.. I was only passing through there for a few nights on my way to Koh Chang but Bangkok really sucks you in when your there. I definitely want to go back and spend some more time there soon.

I stayed at a nice clean backpackers hostel/inn not far from Koh San Rd called Siam Inn and really enjoyed it. (note the public bathroom pics down below.... interesting if you get stage fright!) I had to kill a few days waiting for some friends to arrive so it was the perfect time to have a looksy looksy. I met some more really nice people there again and enjoyed getting amongst it on Koh San rd late into the night. Ooh and I had my first Vegan food experience which was actually quite good considering I really like my meat.

Then after a quick taxi ride (20mins) out of Bangkok, a long bus ride (6 hours) to Trat and short ferry ride (30mins) we (myself and my two new buddies from Langkawi, Laura and Cara) landed on Koh Chang and headed to Lonely Beach to find some accommodation. The first thing that hit me about this place was the sunsets. We arrived there right on sunset the first day and since then I have been taking photos of them every day, they are really amazing..

Lonely Beach is a cool little backpackers hideaway on Ko Chang. Its a nice little beach side town that not as built up and busy (yet) as some of the other more popular islands in Thailand. Don't be fooled though there’s still a party on every night at one of the various bars in town and its hard to get to sleep before 3pm due to the music... There is also a good choice of accommodation in town which are all pretty much in the form of timber huts on stilts.

The weather seems to always be the same and I am finding myself swimming in the ocean every day not that you'd know it by my tan yet (or lack thereof!). Also the girls left this morning to continue on with their own trip so tonight I will no doubt hit some of the bars again to find some new friends to play with. Tomorrow I am going to do a cruise which apparently takes you round the nearby islands and national parks so that should be interesting. By the sounds of it you go to four or five different islands in the area and get the chance snorkel at each one. Should be good! I'll keep you posted.

Trust your all well and not working too hard! Travel Dog.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



28th January 2009

waterfall
dude, get to the waterfalls on Ko Chang, they're awesome!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb