I've arrived! What a culture shock!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I have arrived! It has been the scariest & wierdest two days of my life but I've made it and I am so proud of myself!
I've changed guesthouses twice already, I walked in the first one, looked round and walked out, insects crawling on the floor and what I thought were expensive prices as there were only twin rooms left. I went to the first gueshouse that I found on Khao San Road, which was even worse, there was one freezing cold hose pipe as a shower for everyone in the guesthouse and one squat toilet which wasn't even working, anyway I managed to survive a night there and have moved back to the origional guesthouse this morning, which now looks like Buckingham Palace!
The journey was long but ok and I don't think that I am jetlagged too badly, although my room was on the front of Khao San Road last night so didn't get much sleep, even with ear plugs in but did get some! I met a few people on the way who I was supposed to be meeting for a beer last night but my mobile isn't working so that didn't come off. I can't send texts or ring anyone on my mobile phone - it's not working and I need to sort it so don't worry if you havn't had a text off me - I can't send them but I can recieve them & the ones that I have got so far have really perked me up and spurred me on.
I think that I am going to maybe have another day wandering around today and tomorrow I will either do some sight seeing in Bangkok or get the hell out of here to a beach somewhere - will see how I feel and keep you all posted as & when I move.
Well I've got to say that I've learnt quite a bit already, this has been a MASSIVE culture shock!! I've brought too much stuff for a start but I dump some of it when I know what I am doing a bit more.
Miss you all already
xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb