Bangkok Belly


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone

Just a quick update on my situation, I got stuck down with the "Bangkok Belly" yesterday so havn't moved out of Bangkok yet but am planning on getting the night train tomorrow night, provided I feel well enough to set off.
I had a nice day on Tuesday I took myself off for a Thai massage, which was very interesting. A very small but very strong Thai lady crawled all over me with her elbows and knees and basically cracked every bone in my body! It was more like a yoga workout than a massage you would get at home. It was quite painful at times but I didn't say anything and the lady said that she could tell I was "very strong, working woman, very independent" Then she boiled up some herbs and compressed them onto my skin, I left there feeling amazingly relaxed and calm. I might have felt amazing but I certainly didn't look it as I discovered when I was sat in a cafe (about an hour later) that I had green blobs all over me from the herbs! Thai people keep commenting and looking at my skin anyway - they can't believe I am so white - neither can I that's why I need to get on the beach!!
I also went on my first tuk tuk ride yesterday, they are like a three wheeled motorcycle that have a seat in the back, they are called tuk tucks because that is the noise that the engine makes and the drivers are constantly driving past you shouting "Hey - where you go?" The only problem with them is that they seem to want to take you everywhere where you don't want to go and not to where you do! They get commissions for taking tourists to shops and tourist attractions.
I also met a really nice friend on Tuesday, her name is Marge and she is an Italian girl who has lived in London for the past 14 years, she speaks fluent English and we have lots in common and get on really well. I think that we are going to travel to the south together, she also really looked after me yesterday when I was ill bringing me bread, rice & water to the room and moving me into a room with a private bathroom. Things would have been much harder if she wasn't around. She has also met another friend who is Australian, a guy called "Crow" anyway the pair of them have gone off for a walk and they are going to get me some pro-biotic to help my stomach.
I'm not sure where I am going to next, it's either Ko Samui or Krabi, one of my friends who lives in Krabi has got in touch so maybe I will go straight there - either way I am going to have a some well deserved rest on the beach!!
I will keep you all posted as to where I end up, missing everyone loads, phone is still not working but keep the texts coming, I do recieve them and they really encourage me and spur me on.
xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb