Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

Awesome waterfall- it beats niagara falls because i could swim in this one. Added bonus is i didnt break anything...
Trekking in Chiang Mai was awesome. Walking is made a lot harder by the heat. We had a little rain which kills the heat a little so it could have been a lot worse. We stayed in hill top villages. Was so awesome (i know i over use the word) People were really nice and the kids were super cute. I could have done without the creepy crawlies. Saw a snake (just a small one but apparently poisonous), a huge spider and a few decent sized beetles. I pulled a few leeches of my shoes but always got there before the got to my skin. After the first night i woke up to a 30cm lizard sitting on my mosquito net right above my face. Was sorta cool... Think I'm gonna be a lot better about bugs and thing at home from now on.

I rode on elephant. I think i can now die happy. I was a little sceptical abut elephant riding (with the potential for cruelty) But these elephants seem pretty well looked after. They roam round the jungle and get caught for around an hours work a day. Apparently carrying tourists is a lot less work then
TrekkingTrekkingTrekking

Elephants later ate most of the walking sticks
being used to carry logs as well. Was so awesome.

After three days of trekking we headed back to Chiang Mai for a day then got another train back to Bangkok, arriving this morning. Visited Wat Pho (home of the reclining Buddha) Spent a bit of time on Khao san road. I'm not usually a fan of shopping but i had to make an effort to restrain myself and not fill up my pack to much when i'm at the start of my trip.

I'm loving every minute of my trip so far but i'm already looking forward to being in Vietnam, getting away from other tourists and hopefully doing something worthwhile.

Tomorrow its back on the train headed for Khao Sok natinal park. Awesome awesome awesome :p

Please excuse my spelling mistakes- I'm an awful speller and i have limited Internet time


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Reclining BuddhaReclining Buddha
Reclining Buddha

So many goldern Buddha's- This is my favorite so far


8th August 2008

Hey Anjelly!
(Yes I decided to call you Anjelly for a change =P) Hope your trip is going smashing - decided to move away from the word Awesome -. Keep blogging little Angela. Oh and here's some words you can use instead of awesome; excellent, great, smashing, wonderful, terrific, good, bad (hope not), wicked, out of this world, marvelous, cool, groovy, funky, amazing, astonishing, beautiful, bagus, fantastic, fabulous, nice, neat, radical..etc. Hope your all good and well! <3 Harriet and the fam-damily
10th August 2008

That "awesome" - in particular the elephants and golden buddahs and maybe not so much the spiders and snakes! Keep up the good work amigo...
11th August 2008

ANGIE-BABE
You automatically became my idol next to Ricky Gervais and Billy Corgan, the moment you sat on the elephant.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb