Krabi, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Spent my last 24 hours in Bangkok indulging. Hair cut (got rid of about half of it- makes it much more comfortable in hot muggy climate), manicure (I'd never had one before- my nails were perfect for about a day), and cocktails in buckets (was never going to be a good idea).

Got on another overnight train. I'm pretty sure they are getting louder and more cramped as i go so i was glad when we arrived in Khoa Sok. Beautiful area. Spent some of the afternoon floating down a river in the tube of a truck tire taking in the scenery and looking out for wildlife. The rain forest in this area is meant to be 160million years old making it the oldest on earth (debatable). Stopped by a monkey spot by a small Buddhist temple. Monkeys are totally awesome. Still not convinced on snakes. Spent the next day exploring the nation park on foot. We had to climb over a few signs closing tracks over the raining season but saw a few good waterfalls and found a good swimming spot. My 80% deet insect repellent seems to work pretty good on mozzies and leeches. It also seems to
MonkeyMonkeyMonkey

Awesome :)
work well as a nail polish remover and paint stripper. It makes my manicured nails tacky and the colour comes off my jandals when i put it on my feet. (yes jandals - not flip-flops- I'm the lonesome kiwi) Still definitely beats bites.

Currently in my last stop for Thailand. Ao Nang, Krabi. I don't think a trip to Thailand would be complete without stopping at a beach. I'm ecstatic. I love the sea anyway and its so warm its like swimming in bath water. Spent yesterday morning in a Kayak- got to look at limestone rocks, mangrove forests and more monkeys. There are a few signs of the tsunami in the area although because the area was sheltered by islands it got a rise in sea level rather then an actual wave and wasn't affected nearly as badly as other areas. There are lots of signs on the beaches pointing out evacuation roots.

Went on the essential island hopping/ snorkeling trip today. I was really excited as one of the beaches is in the movie "the beach". My excitement passed when we got there. Was a beautiful beach but it was super crowded. Went for a swim
Ao Nang beachAo Nang beachAo Nang beach

Rosie and Laura walking on Ao Nang beach
and although the water was super clear it had heaps of plastic floating in it. Didn't make for pleasant swimming at all although apparently the beach gets cleaned every morning. Monkey island was the same in that it was covered in people (pretty sure people out numbered monkeys). The other beaches we stopped at were awesome. Bamboo island was my favorite. Beautiful beach and clear water and not too many people and boats. Although its called bamboo island apparently there isn't any bamboo on the island since the tsunami. The tsunami killed heaps of people and wiped out lots of the infrastructure of the Phi Phi islands. (The group of islands we visiting). Awful. Any damage that was done to the tourism industry seems to have been undone in time. Very popular area. Snorkeling was totally awesome. Fish amazing. I think if i had to be a different sort of animal and i couldn't be a monkey i might be a tropical fish.

I've totally loved Thailand. I'm a little sad to leave but i figure i might like Malaysia too. I'm totally exhausted from to much sun, mosquito bites on blisters, and not quiet enough sleep so a travel day tomorrow sounds pretty good.

Photos take awhile to upload so just a few today - don't worry I'm taking lots


Advertisement



21st August 2008

ANGIE-BABE!
Oh angie, you sound like you're having a totally spectacular time. And even the spelling's ecoming along nicely. V. impressed. Also V. happy to see a new blog entry up. Hope you got my comment on the last one :) Nice to know you're all doing well and good, and not suffering imensely from the bites/snakes... whatnot. Epic-ville. :D Can't wait to see more on the trip yo! Phil. x. Hugs, hugs, hugs and kisses and all that crap. :-)

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb