Suckers Smile!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SNAKE MILKING FARM- yup, that's what we went to bed thinking about last night and images of how in the world this works made us arise quite early (3:30AM to be exact). The debate last night was to either spend the day at a crocodile park, with 30,000 (?) crocodiles, including a live wrestling match, or attend a snake farm.

We eagerly arose, ate a very nice english style breakfast and went confidently to our nearest tuk tuk driver. Once again, us Bostonians were conquered by the great and powerful Bangkok locals. Our tuk tuk took us to a silk shop, which is literally every third shop. After a very rude "don't touch" interaction we hopped back on a tuk tuk to go directly to the snake farm. At least, that's what we thought. We gratefully stepped out of our little motorized huffy and followed his lead to this river boat, but a quick instinct reminded us to tell our destination for a 100th time and of course, hands in the air, this was not the correct location either. Off again, this time to a corner where our dirver told us to get on a bus, and all those local Bangkok residents had the joy of seeing us three American girls running for a bus, not even knowing where it was going. Luckily, we met our first helpful person on the bus who was kind enough to answer our questions and point us in the correct direction.

Off the bus and onto snake milking ground. As you may have guessed, we missed the milking, which turns out to be venom extraction, one of two places in the world where this takes place. It was a complete ghost town, with the exception of the most venomous snakes in the world. Did you know that one way to counteract snakes venom is horse blood? Most were off hidden behind or under something. We did however get to watch one green snake in action as it slowly lowered itself down upon two unsuspecting frogs and snatched them up. Do you know what sound a frog makes in a snakes mouth? It sounds like a squeel of a pig. Our expectaions were immedialtey raised for the rest of the day, only to be beat by a 3 foot lizard we spotted in Lumphini Park and another we saw under the sewer grate, which is pretty scary when you have nsakes on your mind to begin with.

All in all, not a bad day. We are off to Cambodia tomorrow, 7AM. We are anxious to get out of Bangkok, but not exactly looking forward to the 13 hour bus ride, with the man making roller coaster like gestures with his hands to describe the trek. We have learned many lessons today, one being that there is a very good chance there is no bus that travels to Cambodia, which we will then start the day with a massage and find somewhere other than Bangkok to visit. Not sure what the interent service will be like in Cambodia, but if we truly are on a bus tomorrow, I won't be writing on a blog when I arrive. I hope to download some pictures next time, and if I wake at 3:30AM again tomorrow morning, I promise I'll make the most of my time and download some photos.

~Thai Kho (Again, PLEASE, no spelling judgements. There is a timer on this computer and it makes my heart beat rapidly. Most of you know my thoughts on time. For the rest of you, I get to school at 7:15AM so I'm not late. I live 1.5 miles away, and school starts at 8:30)

PS Nik, on the plane ride I watched a movie called "Run Fatboy Run". If we want to run the Boston Marathon in 2009 we need to start filling out charity applications. I definitely want to train for another half marathon come Sept/Oct, not so sure about a full marathon. Think about it and let me know what you think. You've got 5 weeks to ponder.


Advertisement



14th July 2008

New from Hood!
SNAKE MILK. What a way to start a morning with a little snake milk in your Lucky Charms. It's that extra kick that you need to get your day started right. Now with extra shot of horse blood, it really keeps the kids happy. Get yours today at your local shopping store. Waring. Snake milk has side effects.... like death. If death acures, please see your local undertaker.
14th July 2008

WHY?
I've tried to take a deep breathe and really be more open when reading these blogs ---- this has closed me right back up. Why would you travel 28 hrs for a six week trip for this???? Snake milking, horse blood, lizards, crocodiles, a 13 hour bus/roller coaster ride to Cambodia??? ICK! Ya know, they spotted a Bobcat in the woods at the end of my street - let alone the already known coyotes, bunnies, turkey vultures, dogs, cats, turkeys -- see you could have gone for a 28 min walk and had quite an adventure not leaving Meffa! Anywho, all is well here - Red Sox are in first place at the All Star Break. Blog/email again soon - I'm waiting!!! Love you!!!!!!!!
14th July 2008

I Knew that!
You are loving it- but I knew that! Please include as many new words as you can. I am studying Thai in case I need to come join you. ?Donde esta' meine jungen ami, en las tuk tuk? Kristen among the many things I love about you, I value highly your rapier insight and insightful wit. Hands, roller coaster, ride. Brilliant, I can see you now. Your blog is making this beauty queen's summer. LOL My love. Lauren
14th July 2008

WELL WASN'T THAT ONE FUN-FILLED DAY!!! aHHHHHHHHH I WOULD TAKE THE MASSAGE IN A MINUTE...LOVE MOM
14th July 2008

OMG
Are you friggin nuts! Why would you want to go see snakes? I love your stories but not liking this one! I just love reading all about your travels however I'm with your mom on this one.....HAIL MARY FULL OF GRACE, AND BLESS KRISTIN!
14th July 2008

WOW!!
Hi, Well your initiation period is now almost done....... ? I'm sure there is a way to Cambodia and you will eventually find it. Interesting day to get to the snake farm et al. Can't wait for photos. Enjoy Cambodia, stay safe and keep on blogging. You are amazing with all your ambition. You can and will achieve anything that you want to as well as get to anywhere that you want too. Love Lucille P.S. Your sisters good bye entry did me in today when I read it.
14th July 2008

Sounds like all is going well!! I am enjoying reading your blog and the pictures too. After this, I.m sure Wildwood will be boring!!!
14th July 2008

WTF
Kristin "Marie" FYI if you were to get bit by a snake you make an x over the bite and suck out the venom with your mouth. That info was per my 7th grade biology teacher just so you know. Who knew Mr Larkin would come in handy at this stage in the game!!! I hope you enjoyed yourself...I think I would have still been waiting in the tuk tuk for you to come out of the farm but thats why your you and I am me. Miss you lots girl!
14th July 2008

You're brave/nuts; I hate snakes!! Just reading your blog was freaking me out! I can’t even imagine what it’s like over there. You're going to have great stories! Be careful!!!! Maureen
14th July 2008

Snake Nightmares!
Yes, I do believe I will have nightmares about snakes! Ughh, I hope you did not have to pay more then $1.00 to do that. :) Glad you are on this adventure and I am home in the AC house. :) Love the pics, have fun good luck in Cambodia, if you get there. Saying more prayers! PS-why did RUN FAT boy RUN, make you think of me????
15th July 2008

snake milking... interesting choice!
Your spelling is fine stop obsessing! The snake milking trip sounds eventful.. too bad you missed the actual milking:( You are brave to endure a 13 hour bus ride. I'm sure the sights and smells will make for an interesting story. I'm looking forward more pictures! Be safe.I miss you!
15th July 2008

First Few Days
So, you just get there and you become a Strret Walker, then you're off milking snakes-such behavior from a School Marm! Did you try any of the Thai Hot Peppers? Maybe you can smuggle some home from me. ~UB~ PS: You always make me proud...
15th July 2008

Snake Milk?
The whole snake milk thing freaks me out a little, but definitely the better of the 2 that you had to pick from... So happy for you Kristin, people say they'll do things like this but time goes by and it never happens.. enjoy every minute and be safe.. We will see you @ Sept's girls night!!! Love reading about your adventures and can't wait to see more pics..
15th July 2008

Congrats
2 days down...are you counting?
15th July 2008

Not Exactly the Phila Zoo
Hi Kristin - sounds like you're off to a great start - Snakes???? - I hope that Dramamine fit in that little back pack!! Hope the scenery keeps your mind off the ride - Keep sending those pics - I like to follow in your footsteps from my airconditioned home- Ha! Stay well and TAKE CARE!!! Love, Kathy
15th July 2008

Hello Thai Kho, It is marco ko and with nothing to do I am very, very, very, bored i do have some plans were going to mount killington wich is kinda creapy like the snake farm PEace out, marcus
15th July 2008

ok, my maternal instincts just kicked it....snake farms, venom, rude people, possible bus rides!! I'm coming to get you and bring you home! Love you, BE SAFE! Jamian
15th July 2008

Sexy Show
Today I went to get a pedicure and a sweet little Vietnamese lady kindly did my toes. We got to talking about summer plans and of course me going to Thailand came up. She told me that Thailand was beautiful, however she said the most important thing I should do in Bangkok was go to a Sexy Show to see the tranvestites! It was so unexpected. She then mentioned how I should go get a Thai Massage and take tuk tuks rather than cabs. She was so excited for me to see the Sexy Show I found it quite disturbing. Now, I can't wait to get there! See you soon, Check Yahoo mail if you can...I'm replying to your email you send. Thai- Teenie OUT!
15th July 2008

DEAR LORD..........
Is there a nearby Marriott Hotel?????? Because that is where I would be! God love ya Kris! I could never ever do it. Can't wait for you to come home. Chuck says hello and don't eat or drink ANYTHING until you get home. :)
16th July 2008

Marcus
Marcus, your shirt has come in handy. I'm wearing it now actually. I promise to take some pictures of it for you. I may need another one when I return so start thinking of some designs.
16th July 2008

Jamian
You kill me! All is well, but it's nice to know you are "on call" if I'm in trouble.
16th July 2008

Chucky and Wendy
Hey Guys! Thanks for checking in. I promise, no eating or drinking until I return in 6 weeks.
16th July 2008

UB
Thai hot peppers? No way. I had something with my spring rolls last night too hot for me.
16th July 2008

Karen White
Hey, any snakes on the Vineyard I could milk? I may be able to make a thing of it on the island.
16th July 2008

Nik
No, that movie title DID NOT make me think of you. I thought of it walking in the streets of Bangkok. I could feel the bad air filling my lungs and felt so guilty. I'll need to do something good for my body when I get back.
16th July 2008

Mary
Actually, we were told not to suck out the venom or tie off the area. We are to keep the area stable, pray and hope there is a horse close by we can drain for blood.
16th July 2008

Maureen
Back from Colorado! I hate snakes too, but it kinda gave me a thrill. Hopefully, they won't get too close. Thanks for joining!
16th July 2008

Great to hear from you..I look forward to the blogs...I am with Wendy on this one...Any nice air-conditioned hotels with a nice shower???...Sounds like you ladies could really really use one... Be safe Love Mom

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb