Ah Com Tom Tom


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
July 16th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm becoming Cambodian! Okay, let me slow down and start from the beginning.

The bus did indeed pick us up in front our guesthouse at 7AM. We were on the bus for about 5 hours before we reached the border. We then had to wait for our visas, get approval and then get on another bus. From this bus we took a three hour cab ride on roads that are not really roads, they are, well, just earth. This is where the roller coaster like hand gestures came from. We were so tired and sweating through our clothes, but the sights were enough to keep us from even taking our eyes away from the window for a second. See pictures for details.

We arrived at the Sawasdee Angkor Inn and immediately fell in love with the people. Finally, someone to sit down with and talk and listen and learn from. With our shoes left at the door (custom), we embraced our hosts and vice versa. We ate dinner with our waiter and he asked us to teach him some of our language, so we chose the word "wicked" to begin with. After a long explanation with many examples we realized he had never heard the word "nice" before and thought we should take it a bit slower. He has been a great way to learn a bit about how Cambodian people live in this area (Seim Reap). He works every day of the year from 6:30AM- 10:30PM and lives in the hotel. He went to school but does not have the money to continue to the university. As strange as this may seem, he is one of the lucky Cambodian people.

Today we woke up at 6AM, ate breakfast and spent all day at Angkor Wat and were speechless through most of it. It rained for the last part of the day, but it felt so good to be cooled off. When is the last time you played in the rain?

We hope to spend time at the orphanage tomorrow, but are unsure if they will accept our help. There are huge problems here with children being used for sex, so they may not allow us to enter.

Thank you all so much for the comments. They are so exciting to read and I wish I could respond to all of them.

~Thai Kho

PS I smell really bad! We had tons of water and never even had to go to the bathroom b/c we sweat it all out. Add on top of that some heavy duty bug lotion, sunblock, and Cambodian rain.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



16th July 2008

Another sigh of relief
It is good to hear from you. I've wondered where in the world, literally, you have been and what you are experiencing the last couple days. All is well here. You sound wonderful so that is another sigh of relief for all of us on this side of your vacation. Jaclyn is already calling for Auuunntieeeee so beware! I think I am too!!! We miss and love you, God Bless and be safe.
16th July 2008

Relieved!
Kristen, I can hear your excitement and sense of complete joy this whole experience is bringing you. But, I am sure there is some heartbreak in there too. You will take away a great deal of compassion (not that you didn't have it already) and a entire new appreciation for owning a U.S. passport. I am so glad you are having a truly fantastic time. There is no better teacher than traveling. You will have to plan my next trip for me. Love this blog of yours. Love Maureen
16th July 2008

Hi Kristin, So nice to hear from you again. It seems like you are really enjoying yourself. Please take care and be safe. Counting the days until I receive a message that you are back home and safe. God Bless. Love, Carol
16th July 2008

Now these are the stories I like! Nice and peaceful. Glad today is much better. Looking forward to the next blog!
16th July 2008

Wow, I am envious! I thought backpacking across Europe was an adventure, but since I didn't have one day of body odor, I guess I didn't really "rough" it! Glad you are having fun. Miss you.. be safe.. love, sharon
16th July 2008

wow...
what is angkor wat?? it looks amazing...
16th July 2008

You sound really happy and we're glad that you are having a good time. Was'nt sure if you would like it or not. The pics. are great to see. Don't worry about answering anything just be safe and happy. Enjoy and take in all you can. Love ya.
16th July 2008

Great Photos
Hi Kristin, You are doing a great job....but forget the snake farm!!! OMG!!! Not for me!!! Your photos are great of An....Wat!!! Keep the photos coming! I hope you get into the orphanage! I hate to think of kids having sex!!! Don't want to even think about it !!! Enjoy your visit. Where are you heading next??? Debbie
16th July 2008

Cambodia
Well glad to hear that you made it and youare all well. Sounds like a great experience and what the trip is all about. continue to have fun and stay safe. Enjoy reading about your ventures and the photos too. Love Lucille
16th July 2008

Now you're Cambodian?
Everytime I see you posted a blog I get so excited. Your trip looks and sounds amazing so far. The pictures of Cambodia look beautiful. I love the one of the kids sleeping, it really captures the experience. If you get into the orphanage I am sure it will be an amazing experience... I'm sure the title of your next blog will be.. "I'm moving to Cambodia to work in an orphanage". And the best part is, I bet you would! Be safe.. I miss you!
16th July 2008

Hello!!!!
First, I have to say OMG and what were you thinking. (lol) Today is the first day I read your blogs, other plps comments. And I just can't believe your doing this. It sounds exciting but I could NEVER do this. My idea of a vaca is Aruba... lol -I would of cried just because I could only take a back pack. But your a trooper, I have to tell you. You are amazing and inspiring for taking this trip. I wish you the best of luck. I can't wait to see all your pics and stories/adventures at girls night. Have FUN and be SAFE....!!!
16th July 2008

The magic
It´s happening. I can read it between your lines. You´re feeling it. You´re more alert than ever. You feel really alive. You´re catching it - the travel bug. Watch out World, Kristin´s coming. mike
16th July 2008

Pictures
P.S. get some pictures with you in them!! Don´t be a wimp about it (like I am)! mike
16th July 2008

Flirting!
Are you flirting with the Cambodian waiter? Ha ha jk. Glad you got there ok, and are still alive. UM, ya so the shower thing...I don't know how you are doing it! Please in your next blog can you include a picture of yourself with your back pack and fanny pack on? Thanks so much. xo stay safe! :)
16th July 2008

Sorry you smell, but sounds like your'e having the experience of a lifetime! :-)
17th July 2008

Smelly?
Kristin I know a little about smells and frankly you do not come to mind. The snakes were fine by me but an orphanage? I might not make it through this. This could be rough. Like a ripple in a pond, Kristin, leave them with a smile. Do your Helen imitation. It always makes me "Howell" My love Lauren
17th July 2008

Sounds like lots of fun
Kristen I would never put it past you to take a trip like this especially after going to England with you. Sometimes I wish i had the courage to travel like you but it definately not in me. I happy to hear that you are having a great time and will continue to read your blogs througout your trip.
17th July 2008

WOW!
a 3 hour cab ride? It sounds like you are having a ball. DId you get to the orphanage? One of the kids I used to see l(for work) lived in a orphanage in Cambodia! I love the pic! Baseball update; The American League won the All-Star game and our own JD drew was the MVP! Miss Ya Thai KHo
17th July 2008

ps
Kris, I am in awe of your adventure and pictures but you have to know that your ps made me laugh outloud. I didn't see that coming! Keep on having a great (and safe!) time. Looking forward to the next blog. It's like finally getting those postcards drum uncle traveling Mack that I always wanted when watching draggle rock.
17th July 2008

Sharon
It's about time. I was starting to think Maine swallowed you up whole.
17th July 2008

So glad when you write...That's when I know you are safe...I would have said to that guy with the $20 ok we will not be going on your boat. Turned around to walk away and I wonder what he would have done?? He is a criminal...I bet they would have put the price down...Who knows...I guess it was better to do what you did. I hope you get to the water filled volcano and the water is crystal clear and refreshing...Am I asking too much?? Love and please be safe...Mom

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb