Thailand!!!!! (and closing thoughts on India)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 9th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I made it and miraculously found May in the airport! Trying to get there however was quite an adventure. Because of the monsoons, Lauren and I decided that we'd leave 5 hours early for the airport, which is 1.5 hours away. We figured this would give us enough time to read and relax before our flight, plus there was not too much to do in Mumbai with all the rain. We arrived at the airport, and it really kind of reminded me of a cattle ranch. There were people everywhere and no one really has any idea about what is happening. After getting in line for our flight we were told we had to get out and get our baggage screened. After getting our bags screened we had to get in another line, and then someone finally realized we were in the wrong terminal. (Mind you this is after about 5 airport officials have already looked at our tickets and gave us wrong information about being in the terminal we were in). So someone led us to the correct terminal through the throng of people outside. During the process, I fell on my face and almost took Lauren down with me. Finally we got checked in and were directed through security to a room with 4 other flights that seemed to be scheduled to take off at the same time. This room had no officials, boards, and only one gate. It was quite an experience standing in a room with four other flights of passengers who equally had no idea what was happening. Then after boarding the flight I fell asleep and awoke in route to Thailand with my neighbor ( a large Indian man) sitting cross-legged with the arm rest up and his asleep on my lap. (I was pinched up against Lauren the whole flight). Very Interesting. But that is over and done with lol, and we a smooth arrival into Bangkok.
After checking into our hotel, May took us to the mall, which has a Whole Foods like market. We bought some exotic fruit (I can't remember all of the names but they were delicious) and some pastries and I actually got to drink coffee! We went back to the hotel and showered, because Lauren and I hadn't showered in about 2 days and smelled a bit. This was my first hot shower in 10 days! Later we decided that we felt very under dressed compared to all the people here, so we went to a discount shopping mall and bought a bunch of really cheap and cute dresses. Our garb in India fit in quite well, but everyone is pretty dressed up and clean looking here. We also ate lunch at the food court inside the mall. To pay for food you pre-pay to a card and then just swipe the card at any of the seriously 30 little stands. it really makes sense and saves time. I ordered some vegetable dumplings and spring rolls for about 50bhat, about 1.5 bucks. (1$ =31bhat).
Bangkok is much cleaner and seems to have more of a logical flow then much of India did. We are about to grab some dinner. Tomorrow morning we are planning on taking a trip to a floating Market and a sugar palm plantation. It should be fun and I'll write about it when I get a chance.
I just thought of another random thing about India I forgot to talk about earlier. When we were in Mumbai, we got asked to be extras in a Bollywood film. We declined, because we weren't really too interested in devoting our entire day (often 11 hours) for only 500 Rs (about 12.5 us $). That's all I had to say. ha


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb