Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 10th 2005
Published: November 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Khao San.Khao San.Khao San.

Abuzz at night with stalls and shops, the place never sleeps.
If you're backpacking, the only place to stay in Bangkok is around Khao San Road. It's the backpackers quarters, there's a sense of belonging because everyone else looks out of place too - there are practically more tourists than there are locals in that area.

The famous Chantuchak market supposedly has 10,000 stalls - the humidity was quite intolerable. I know some girls would do anything for a bargain but I'm not one of them. Still, we hung around for 5 hours which was pretty good work, I reckon.

We took a river cruise along Chao Phraya River on this really skinny, flimsy, sorry excuse for a boat. Jess was worried about dying, I was worried about getting dirty. Hey, mud is probably cleaner than what's in the river. What can I say? I'm all about priorities.

Time was limited so we only managed to make it in time to visit one of the 'wat' - temples. Wat Pho houses the largest reclining Buddha. I wasn't so much impressed by the Buddha (I mean, it's just big) than I was by the intricacies of the architecture - once a design student, always a design student. The work -
Tuk-tuk.Tuk-tuk.Tuk-tuk.

Of all the luck, we wore short skirts so we had trouble getting in and out of the tuk-tuk, and then while we were zipping in between traffic - it started raining! Loads of fun, though.
knowing they didn't have technology like we do now - and more importantly the passion that must have gone into them, blows my mind.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Suan Lum.Suan Lum.
Suan Lum.

A less popular market from the looks of it, but still had great food. Lots of mosquitoes though, drove me insane!
Chantuchak market.Chantuchak market.
Chantuchak market.

Space was pretty cramped, after awhile all stalls start to look the same.
My other heaven.My other heaven.
My other heaven.

Accessories galore. Be still my heart.
River cruise.River cruise.
River cruise.

Quite a scary adventure if you don't know how to swim. And the water's pretty disgusting.
Wat Arun.Wat Arun.
Wat Arun.

Famous Wat Arun, viewed from the river.
Wat Pho.Wat Pho.
Wat Pho.

Off the river cruise and a short walk to Wat Pho.
Buddha.Buddha.
Buddha.

Largest reclining Buddha.
Wat Pho surrounds.Wat Pho surrounds.
Wat Pho surrounds.

It was a huge space, plenty of awesome great architecture.
Details.Details.
Details.

Love the intricate handiwork that went into this.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb