day 7 - half way there


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 21st 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok got better after I entered our last blog. Still feeling out of sorts we headed to an Italian restaurant and had pizza (and a few beers!) the area we are staying in is something to be seen at night and we will take photos later to post on our next blog. After our feed we had a stroll on the koh san road and went into another bar. There we had a few more drinks watching the people go by. Not content with our quite surroundings we headed to the roof top bar, which had a really good Thai band playing western music. There we had plenty more and ended up having a really good night. When going to bed I decided that I was going to get up this morning and not let the constant harassing get to us.

Early sightseeing went out the window and nursing a hangover became a priority. Breakfast this morning was pretty crap (mini frankfurters for sausages) but filled a gap. Off we set anyway and before we even got out the front door of our hotel at least 5 people were offering us different things. I actually started to enjoy the attention and started to lead them on and waste their time. Any tuk tuk or taxi driver that asked me where I was going I told them that I asked myself that question every day. It confused them slightly. Everyone wants to help you (or so you think) but really they are after your money. I was enjoying it anyway and knocking a bit of craic out of it. We made our way to the pier and got our own long tail boat to turn the canals. It was interesting but they stop every few minutes for little old ladies in canoe type boats to guess what? ..... Sell you things. We wanted nothing from them so I bought a can of beer for our boat driver/captain. The water was filthy and it was choppy too, but of course lots of locals were swimming in it. After about an hour on the boat we got of at the kings palace. Again we were hassled all the way to the entrance and told many times that the palace was closed and that they could bring us somewhere else for a small price! When we got there Michelle was told she would not be allowed in because of what she was wearing (vest and 3/4 length trousers) by this nice man who then offered to bring us some where else for a small fee! If you think I am being repetitive, you should try putting up with it. In side the palace there was none of these people and Michelle was able to borrow a sarong from a service that they provide. The temples and palace inside were spectacular and well worth the visit.

On our way back an old woman with no english started signaling to Michelle that she should put on some sun cream but what was different was, that she wanted no money. She was just been motherly. And then when we looked like we were lost a homeless man approached us and pointed to a big sign in the distance on a building that said koh san road, greeted us in traditional Thai manner (hands closed together like you are praying and then bow the head) and continued on in his merry way. These two acts of kindness bought Bangkok some redemption from me and Michelle.

We are back on the curries anyway. I had the one that Michelle made in the cookery school (hers was nicer!) Michelle is reading at the moment (I should never have bought the books for her as a present for the holiday!). Some of you at home might be wondering do I ever leave the internet cafe and to be honest I do. Its just I find it hard to lie in a hotel room watching foreign TV. We have our sightseeing over for today and the internet is in our hotel and its air conditioned. It’s really hot today. You can see pictures of us at the cooking school at www.asiascenic.com and click on web photo and click on Tuesday 18th.

Just my luck. The internet has crashed. I nearly lost all this only for the guy working here telling me. So its copy and paste for now.

Roll on Phuket. Two days in a 5 star hotel with a spa that costs little or nothing.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb