Made it to Bangkok...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 15th 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I'm in Bangkok....feels so crazy to be here. Definitely feels foreign! I stand out here even more than in South America for sure. And really cannot get this language. It is taking me 2 days just to learn to say hello and thank you! Luckily, my friend Ali's cousin lives here and is helping me get started! I get in late Friday night and meet up at his place where I rent a furnished apartment room. The next morning we go for breakfast and to discuss my Thailand plans and see if he can give me tips, direction, etc. Well...you would think breakfast would be normal...Oh NO! We go to a neighborhood market and get what he calls "porridge". The Thai woman on the street throws some soupy shit in a bag then throws a couple of balls of something in along with other things that I have no idea. Thai men are saying things to us I have no idea; I actually thought they were kind of yelling at us, but really they were being super gracious and trying to give us seats to sit at (on the street). She serves us the porridge and I can't
Recling BuddhaRecling BuddhaRecling Buddha

Temple at Wat Po
stomach it. The 2 balls are pork. Who has pork balls in porridge?? And there is a somewhat raw egg floating in it! So I add a ton of spice to help it out, and now it's burning hot. Guess I won't be eating my breakfast...

I use the skytrain (like the el in Chicago) and take it to a boat on the River that I take to Wat Po, the Reclining Buddha and the Temple of Dawn accross the river. I find a great coffee shop on the river as well and explore markets along the way. It's a hot day, but the river is breezy. At Wat Po, I get my first Thai massage...I'm so excited...it's only $7 for one hour!! But it ends up being a bit of a different experience. You lay on a long table next to many other people (you wear your clothes for a Thai massage), it's outside in a kind of tent and they twist and stretch my body in all different configurations; it's a bit rough, but I still like it, I guess 😊. Then dinner with the cousin and his friends for my first Thai meal...so excited. But again, I'm just not sure it was what I had thought. I wanted the steamed fish since it would be a healthy option, but the head came on it; I'm so American! I know this is the better way to do it, but always freaks me out. They even eat the eyeballs of the fish here! The cool thing was talking to the cousin who has lived in Thailand 5 years and his Australian friend, who lives in Bangkok and hearing how much they love living here! They consider it so much more relaxed and appreciate the sweetness and graciousness of the Thai people. They were also super helful in telling me where to travel to. Bangkok was too much of a big city for me....loud, dirty, hectic, but fun to see and experience. I am most excited for the Thai islands, which I hit tomorrow...expecting sunshine, beaches and yoga bliss!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Wat Arun "Temple of Dawn"Wat Arun "Temple of Dawn"
Wat Arun "Temple of Dawn"

Dicey steps to climb up to get this photo
Head ....Head ....
Head ....

of Recling Buddha...enormous!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb