Thoughts on Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just some thoughts on Thailand while I sit poolside in Bangkok… It truly is amazing how these people maintain their kindness and unique traditions in an increasingly Westernized culture in the face of natural disaster, political upheaval, and constant intense heat. In the two months I have been traveling and teaching I have met such kind souls. I have encountered people who had lost everything they had - families, homes, businesses - in the tsunami and they still demonstrated generosity and kindness to us. I met young people who loved America simply because of the pop culture that has traveled over. In essence it is an idea of America - their version of the American dream, which is disheartening because it doesn’t really exist the way they think it does. I have come over here to find something other than the American way. I would hate to think of it taking over.
We went to a protest against the Coup and everyone we talked to said they wanted Democracy - like we have in America. I didn’t want to disappoint them, so I didn’t say anything about the fact that much of our Democracy at the moment is a big sham. I know it’s a different situation. It was really interesting to see the speakers and the crowds interact - waving flags, wearing headbands with political statements ( think Karate Kid meshed with war protest footage) intense discussions… We were given flags to wave and whenever we did the Thais would give us thumbs up and high fives and pats on the back. After we left, we saw on the news that the protest had turned into a chaotic riot. I’m a bit sorry I missed that part. But perhaps we’re not all that different in the long run, politically speaking.
I saw a tee shirt today that had the famous picture from the Vietnam war of the naked girl running down the road with napalm burns all over her and Ronald McDonald (fucking clown) was holding one of her hands and Mickey Mouse was holding her other. Above the graphic it said “we have our own cultures and traditions. Stop trying to force yours on us.” And I agreed with it - albeit a very harsh way to state it.
Tomorrow we travel North to Kanchanaburi - where the Burma Death Railway and memorial museum is located and also to Ayutthaya - the ancient city. I’m sure we will continue to meet wonderful giving people along the way. Could we say the same about ourselves in America for others traveling from different countries? Have we just become too cynical or too suspicious of others? I don’t know. It will be interesting to return to New York after this and see for myself.
I have gotten another teaching job, but for the fall semester. So I will be back in New York for a bit and then I am returning to Thailand to teach. I am feeling secure in the fact that I know I will be back here, but looking forward to seeing friends and family… and turning 30 with my loved ones around me in July.
I have so much love for this place. I have not yet left and I already am excited to be arriving again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



13th June 2007

huh
so did you get the job or what? where are you and what are you doing for your birthday?
19th June 2007

Hmmmm...
You are slackin on the updates here! I have been waiting to find out whether you got the job or whats going on! Keep us updated girl! I am glad you are having so much fun in the process of waiting though...wish I was there!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb