Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Check in time at the Grande Ville isn't until 12pm today so I spend my morning walking around the Khao San Road area. I walk a few blocks before getting my taxi to the hotel to avoid the 300 THB prices offered to me on the Khao San Road. It costs me 80 THB on the meter and I seem to be the first arrive. The room is air conditioned and has a great view of the city. Joe arrives soon after and our group leader, Ra, comes to introduce himself. Joe and I decide to walk around Chinatown to find somewhere to get lunch, and we manage to get a good meal at a chinese restraunt for 120 THB.

After arriving back I have some time free so I decide to walk around looking for an interenet cafe - something that doesn't seem to exist in this part of Bangkok. I end up at a hotel a few blocks away, which is more expensive than our hotel. I log on and then quickly make my way back - just in time for our group meeting on the top floor which has a great panaramic view of Bangkok.

The group heads over to the Khao San Road for drinks to break the ice, where I sit in full view of the tourist police drinking a singa beer - although I'm 3 years underage. Apparently the police will regually demand money from bar owners in Thailand, just to boost their pay. I also randomly see Rick in one of the bars we're in, showing how touristy this area is.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb