Girly things (and retrieving things from the toilet - not quite as bad as it sounds)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 14th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last night when I was at Siam Paragon my watch broke and fell off. It didn’t, however just fall off onto the floor. Nope, simple things like that don’t happen to me. It fell into the toilet. A public toilet. And the only way I was getting it out was by putting my hand in there. So pleased it happened at Siam Paragon and not some of the other “rest rooms” I’ve had to use! So today I have to go to Silom Village to try and find the shop that Tony took me to where I bought it. On the way I call and have some waxing done. I think I’m having a vain phase….hair products, waxing….. By the way I officially love Charles Worthington. I now have sleek, smooth, silky hair thanks to his shampoo, conditioner, serum, hair spray, gloss spray…… Waxing treatments here are very different, your feet are washed with steam towels (actually more of a necessity due to how dirty your feet get walking around), you have an eye pillow (doesn’t really help the pain) and have a mini Thai massage at the end. Hmmmm….waxing’s still painful however you dress it up. Then to Silom Village and amazingly I find the shop straight away from memory. I’d no idea what it was called so I had to try and remember the way we walked to it. They fix my watch without any problem, so I then spend a couple of hours walking around looking in the lovely shops that are around here and revisiting the Sri Maha Mariamman Hindu Temple. Before I head back I find a really nice Indian shop and end up buying a pair of beaded slippers and two pairs of earrings - all for around £14 after a little bartering. Back near the hotel I call into a salon I’d spotted and have a fantastic manicure and pedicure for a fiver. Then sat by the river I chat to Teng. I want to buy him a small gift as he’s been so kind and friendly, helping me out with translations and always looking after me and bringing me drinks. We spend a frustrating 15 minutes or so with me trying to find out what I could get him. There are different Buddha images for each day of the week that you were born and I’m trying to find out the day he was born so that I can buy him an amulet. But he can’t understand what I mean in English and I can’t find the right words to ask him in Thai. We give up and he says we’ll try again tomorrow!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb