I’m the only white girl in the village


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 13th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning I went back up to Chatuchak (pronounced jutujak - or called jj by locals) Market as some of the shops are open during the week and it will probably be a bit quieter. I have a look around at some shops selling Buddha statues, then go for lunch at a little restaurant. I’m the only one in there, and they’re obviously not used to seeing non-Thai people during the week as no-one speaks any English at all, and I get lots of stares as I’m walking around. Then I am determined to find this fertility shrine. I’ve had another look at the map and I’m going to try from a different angle (again my usual tactic - stubbornly try the same route for a few days, getting lost and frustrated, then look at a map, try a different route and find where I’m looking for). Works every time, I should patent it as a formula - maybe not! So I find it straight away, and it’s miles away from where I was looking before, Wireless Road is a very long road. Getting to the shrine itself is…..interesting. It’s in a hotel(the Nai Lert Park Hotel - VERY nice) and to get to it I have to go out a back way and through the underground car park. You would think that with them getting supposedly 1000’s of visitors to the shrine every year that they would create a better route! I don’t really need to describe the shrine, I’ll let you just look at the pictures! Then I called at Siam Paragon to try and get some hair products to control the fizz bomb that is currently sitting on my head (and get the latest Heat magazine - that will keep me occupied over dinner).



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Fertility ShrineFertility Shrine
Fertility Shrine

yep, they are what you think they are!


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb