Free Diesel and a Haircut


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 27th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It's important to get going with these visas so I go to the Nice Place office just off the Kao San road. I speak to a friendly Thai guy by the name of "June". Next to his desk a woman is sleeping on a mat on the ground with an infant in her arms. A few insects scurry about beside her. June informs me that Nice Place have a network of offices so I could get the visas delivered to Chiang Mai and not have to wait around in Bangkok for them. Vietnam and Cambodia cost me 1600 BAHT...I sing up then wander back down the Kao San


I cross the road to visit the local SongKram Temple. Inside the temple a monk is speaking to a group whited clothed nuns. while another monk sprays some drops of water over a layman who kneels before him...As I emerge from the temple a well dressed Thai manages to convince me that I can have a government tuk tuk driver for only 20BAHT to see a special festival buddhist festival...I emphasize that I am not interested in the buying... he reassures me and sends me off..

We arrive at a temple that has scafolding all over it...there is no festival (of course)...then I am whisked away to the "tourist office" where a very unconvincing sales guy tries to get me to sign up for a trek in Chiang Mai for $100....The tuk tuk driver mentions something about free diesel again...

We stop on a wide road...a bunch of Thai guys staring at me as I, feeling a bit vulnerable (carrying cash), refuse to enter and the driver refuses to go any further....I feel trapped and scurry up the hot dusty street....

Several streets later...the moment of panic long gone..'tis time to quit "sightseeing" - until I get the hang of the transport system..so I opt for a haircut (see pics)




Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb