Introduction to the Kao San World


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 26th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast at Triang is outside next to a pond with a pool view and surrounded by trees a virtual oasis in this stinky sweaty city. They offer Continental, Irish/English, cereals, panckakes and about ten different types of Thai food. In addition to salads, fresh fruit tea coffee etc.

I decided to have the lot. I started with fruit then had Irish with four slices of toast followed by various thai dishes pausing for air between each. At the end my stomach gave a satisfied sag until it spilled over my trousers belt which was duly loosened. I consoled myself that iit would be a weeks before I would hit the beaches and that there would be ample time to cut back.

The hotel staff give a nervous laugh when I suggested that I pay for another night tomorrow.

I move on to the Kao San road the backpackers haven in Banlamphu. The whole street is lnied with stalls and packed with young hip, monied (for the Thais anyway) Europeans and Americans. Long hair with bandanas, bronzed faces and bright coloured clothes predominate.

I book into the Kao San Palace 400 BAHT (10USD) a night with air con and spent ages sitting in the courtyard unable to move in the heat. I speak to Karen from Newfoundland that has lived in Thailand for over a year.

. I walked about.. and a tuk tuk driver calls me
.

"Mr. where you go? You see giant Buddha? I do all 20 Baht"
"I want to go to pier 1", I say
He agrees to take me to both and we are off buzzing about the streets which are a lethal cocktail of heat, fumes and diesel aroma.

This is my first temple. It is a true oasis of peace in the city. I remove my shoes and see various shrines and then the huge towering Buddha that belongs to Wat In.

The tuk tuk driver mutters something about "free diesel". I just intuitively say no but later find out that the drivers get a commision of free diesel for bringing tourists to the "Thai Export company" where they are sold useless stuff.

He refuses to drive me any further and drops me off at the wrong pier. I hang out at the pier at the banks of the Chayo Fraya River which is empty except for a few young guys speaking English.

I get introduced to Chris (Norweigian) and two Americans Paul and Jousha. They were just at a Snake show and have been drinking quite a bit. We grab a tuk tuk to head back for more drink at the Kha San road and the four of us squeeze in.
"Khao San road" says Chris. On our way to Kha San, the guys mention something about girls and The tuk driver stops, below his neetly combed hair and at the bottom of his large head he smiles evily showing his teeth and opens his hands to reveal a colour picture/brochure of what appears to be a brothel. There are about 100 girls dressed in bright pink dresses against a pink background. Some of them wear expressions of discontent their eyes towards heaven others smile.

A consensus is eventually reached that we will continue to Kha San road and not divert to see girls despite the entusiasm of Chris. Chris and I head to the KS Centre across from "Lucky Bar" and the KS palace. I order a beef, pepper and rice dish which is wonderful and costs about 2GBP. Chris tells me about his Thai girlfriend who he met in Austrailia. He lives with her and her mom who is a Thai actor. Paul returns and Chris leaves to get his girlfriend and her friends to join us.....

Couple of hours Later Chris returns laughing and tells us that instead of meeting his girlfriend he went to the brothel.....and how wonderful it was....

I meet a British expat who has a bar in Cambodia...... as well as various others but I am too tired and start drifting asleep in my chair....I have had enough of Kao San for one night. ......


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb