First Asian Steps


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 25th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wed 25 May 2005

Plane touches down in KlA, walking toward the airport terminal from the plane tunnel to the air terminal I have the equivalent
of a blow dry heater blasted into my face. My first kinesthetic experience on Asian soil..Major milestone.....stop press...

KLA airport is an aboslutely amazing construction. White light floods the vast space that is the departure hall. Many Young well dressed Malays tout prodcuts in a professional organised fashion .

A few hours later and I am in Bangkok. The sky was clear the whole way and I spotted the the jutting out part of Surat Thani and the Eastern islands.

I book a hotel (Triang Hotel. in Banglamphu 18 sterling with pool) at the airport. I share a taxi with a canadian guy called Mike.
On arrival at 12:00pm, A Thai bell boy brings my stuff to the room, closes the curtains turns on the tv and proceeds to watch it an uncomfortably long period of time, finally he leaves and I collapse exhausted on the bed.

Funny, in the western world there is an organisation called the Gideons, a charity that places bibles in hotel rooms. Well, I awake at midnight exploring my surroundings and open the drawer next to me to find a book on Lord Buddha...it becomes my bedtime story for the night......






Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb