Temple of the Golden buddha and sleepin it out


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 29th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Returning to Banglamphu from my all night vigil, I stop by Hualamphong train station to buy my ticket to Northern Thailand (Chiang Mai)...

The goverment tourist employees spot you immediately as you enter the station and are quite helpful with times and details but subsequently lead you to a travel agent rather than directly to the ticket counter...."Come in, sir", he called out in a commanding tone - as I excused myself and sat down at a bench outside the a coffee shop next to the Travel agent..."Later... I need to plan now"...He tried a few times but I just sat ignoring him and then when made my way to book my tickets....

The train station is near china town so I took this opportunity to see Wat Traimit (or the "Temple of the Golden Buddha) - the golden Buddha was only discovered when its plaster like outer casing was cracked when it was accidentely dropped from by a transport crane...I also squeezed in breakfast and lunch - a delicious cholm and duck meal with a Dim Sum prawn starter at a Chineese restaurant in chinatown

After I talke the express boat back up the river exiting at Wat Arun (or temple of the Dawn) which is decorated in porcelain...Back at the hotel I collapse asleep. I am supposed to get up at 6 to go back to Noriegas for the real Salsa night but instead sleep it out, wake at 10:30 realize its too late and then sleep on...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb