I don't get out much.....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 30th 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

2nd day of the course and everyone’s much more friendly. Maybe everyone was a little scared yesterday. The guy that I thought was thai is in fact French and has lived in Bangkok for 2 years. His thai speaking was so good, he had me fooled. Puts me to shame as he as he speaks fluent English and thai. I get on really well with him (Ali), and we both get the same boat back so spend a lot of time chatting...and eating. I love all the fresh fruit they sell on the street carts, and corn just steamed and a little salt added. You just get the food in a bag with a stick to eat it with and it's delicious. The training here is very different to ours. The teachers carry their mobiles around with them and if it rings during a lesson they go ahead and answer it and have a conversation, at lunchtime one of them is sprawled out in a chair in the classroom asleep… it’s very relaxed and laid back! Some of the western students obviously don’t like this way and get a little wound up when we start at flexible times and the teachers
Gow, one of the teachersGow, one of the teachersGow, one of the teachers

working hard having a foot massage, and yes I only took a picture of him because he's cute!
wander off mid class to have a conversation outside on their phone, but it doesn’t bother me, I think I’m acclimatised and on “thai-time” myself! Tonight I just eat next door at Be My Guest and then when I’m sat in my room later reading the paper a small boat sails into the middle of the river and starts letting fireworks off. Then it tootles back again, gets some more, back into the middle of the river and lets more off. It does this about 5 times with a gap of 10-15 minutes in between. So every time I think it’s finished and it comes back again I have to leap across my bed to turn the lights out so that I can watch. I don’t get out much now!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb