Exploring further


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 2nd 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Continued with the course. Each day starts with the prayer to the father of thai medicine The Canadian guy didn’t show up for the 2nd day, and the american woman hasn’t shown today, so we seem to have joined with another group that must have started a few days ago. I’m the only westerner in this group, so they all keep chatting in thai and I try and join in as much as I can. Ali really helps as he translates for me when needed. As is the norm I get by with the little thai that I know, along with smiles and gestures. Chatting to Ali I also find out that it’s pretty easy to get a job here teaching English, with a decent enough wage to get by, so I’m going to look into this for next year. Saturday evening I decide to venture a little further to get something to eat. Every other evening after the course I’ve been so exhausted that I’ve eaten near the hotel and collapsed into bed, but I had a good, long sleep last night so I head off on the sky train. On the way Teng updates me on the “thai film” from the other night when the 3 guys had sprinted past me, one with a weapon. Apparently they didn’t get caught and just ran right through the hotel and onto the street again. I get off the sky train at Surasak, which is just the first stop and walk around for a while. It feels good to be just walking after sitting down so much on the course. Then I’m starving so I go into somewhere to eat. Turns out to be very fancy and nice (not really what I was looking for) and not too cheap, but the food is organic which is a nice surprise. My meal is spoiled though when the women at the next table suddenly jump up because a cockroach is climbing up the wall next to them. Then it lands in their food when the waiter tries to get it! They get a replacement….and the next thing…they jump up screaming again because there’s another one!!!! They get moved to another table, but I find it difficult to enjoy my food as I’m twitchy looking to see if any more roaches appear. And I’m holding my feet off the floor in case there are any around!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb