TGIF


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 20th 2017
Published: October 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Friday morningFriday morningFriday morning

Sunrise from the 25th floor. One week and every morning has started off nicely
Friday here at last. A nice sunrise to start the day. Ended up at the gym a little early, so I had a few minutes to go find the gym dogs and give them their daily treat. The gym was very quiet this morning, dont know if its because its Friday, or the fighters injury yesterday or what. One of the trainers was setting up the water jugs, sweeping, and hosing everythin down, but no one else in sight. Jogging waits for no man, so onward. On the 8th lap there was a very light sprinkle, so it was time to jump rope. While jumping the gym started waking up. Themorning mist stoped, so the laps two laps were completed. Time for pads.... Four rounds of that, then it was 3 rounds of boxing with my sparring partner David, from Spain. I thought it was supposed to be just some practice kicks and blocks, but it turned into more of light sparring. I really wasn't putting much power behind things, and pulling all the punches. It became clear that David liked to trap the kicks, which I was throwing at maybe half speed. Well, for most of them it wsn't an
Spirit House at the gymSpirit House at the gymSpirit House at the gym

Every morning it's been dark enough for the lights to be on
issue, but he did catch one and managed to throw me down. Hard. Landed square on my left shoulder and neck and was seeing stars for a moment. Everything is fine, but I'll make sure that doesn't happen again. I think we are supposed to do some more sparring this afternoon.

Afternoon has turned hotter here, and the run was not fun at all. And the 15 minutes of jump rope equally as unenjoyable. The sweat was streaming off me like crazy, and I was wron down before the pads even started. My sparring partner didn't show due to a sore back, so I got to clinch with one of the younger Thais. Two rounds of that and it was amazing how strong he was, for weighting maybe 100 lbs. I'm sure the leverage has much to do about it. I've really never been given any direction on what to do, just mostly picked it up from what I've been watching others. Of course there's a lot to pick up when you are getting clinched to pieces too. Next new change was sparring with Jomhod. I'm not sure he even broke a sweat in the 3 rounds. Tons of
Lunchtime for meLunchtime for meLunchtime for me

Hotel espresso shop for a pastry and Oreo cookie frapp. There was only half a cookie on top but the whipped cream made up for it
kicking and countering. I was totally drained after that, but wait - there's yet more.... 4 more rounds on the pads while I could barley raise my hands and then to top it off the last 3 laps. I couldn't go through the weight routine or sit-ups, it was just too much to do. Even cutting that out, I still didn't leave there until 5:30 Total work out is now over 5 hours a day. Tomorrow it's double sessions again, and next week I was told the running picks up plus the sparring does also.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb