Orientation


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 15th 2017
Published: October 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok sunriseBangkok sunriseBangkok sunrise

View from the 25th floor. If you are laying on your side... Even though they told me the room was upgraded, it's the same room as every other time here, only a couple floors higher. Ears pop on the elevator ride....
Morning in Bangkok at the breakfast buffet. A popular place especially at 7:30 in the morning. Sleeping is way out of whack and no doubt will be looking for some serious afternoon nap today. Not much luck sleeping on the long flight to Seoul, but couldn't keep awake on the short flight (4 hours) to Bangkok. Korean air has probably the worst airline food and TV/movie selection I've experienced yet. But for the price of the ticket, I couldn't beat it. I paid $200 more for the trip here than I did recently for a round trip to Atlanta. How does that make any sense at all?

Seems the rains have been heavy in the north, and there is talk of flooding, but not in Bangkok. I did see shops have stacks of sandbags outside their doors last night. Reminds me of one of the other trips we made where the same was true. This morning is a beautiful clear morning with a nice sunrise. I have a picture but still haven't figured out how to upload yet.

Today's plan will be a recon run to the gym to make sure I remember which side of the train station
Skytrain to GymSkytrain to GymSkytrain to Gym

Yep, its a long and empty train this morning. Lets see what its like tomorrow morning at 6:30
is the right direction and to make sure of how long it takes to get there. lots of things to do today to get ready for the week, exchange money, hit the market for water, workout, and a bunch of other things to check out.

Next week is the end of the 1 year mourning period for the King. There is a 3 day long ceremony. To show respect, the Thais are supposed to wear non color clothes, like black of white. There are lots of black and white banners all over the city.



Evening update: eating at Bully's Pub, and it's as good as ever. No rain all day today. 7:00 and I'm starting to get really tired. I guess that's good, so I probably won't oversleep tomorrow. I just hope I'm not going to wake up at around 2 in the morning and be up for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Eminent AirEminent Air
Eminent Air

Changed the floor to look like a checkerboard. Everything else looks the same. All quiet on a Sunday.


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb