The Wheels on the Bus Go Round and Round


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bus Station at PuliBus Station at PuliBus Station at Puli

I had to transfer here to catch the bus to Chingjing Farm and Lushan Hot Springs. Not exactly a Greyhound Bus station.
Thursday, June 21, 2007

Today was the day I started my trek into the mountains of Taiwan, map in hand. As Jennifer pointed out to me, having a map and pointing a lot got you almost everywhere. And I know now that if I would've lost it, I'd probably still be up there in the mountains somewhere unknowingly being married off to someone's daughter.

My trip began at 6am to catch the bus to the train station so I could get the express bus to Puli (1 1/2 hours). When we arrived in Puli, the driver let me off and pointed across the street. I looked but didn't see anything close to resembling a bus station, but I stepped off and ventured across. I soon realized that my problem was I was looking for a Greyhound Bus station like we have back home, not a small, hole in the wall. But despite the fact that I spoke no Chinese and the attendants spoke no English I managed to get a ticket. Of course, the map came in handy.

From Puli we climbed into the mountains. 1 1/2 hours later I arrived at Chingjing Farm, a popular mountain spot. As soon as I got off the bus, the difference in temperature from Taichung was noticeable. It was cool and refreshing. And the scenery was spectacular. I wasn't sure what to expect but I soon found out that I was dropped off at the north entrance. From there you walk down until you get to the end. It was somewhat hard to figure out and there were lots of vendors along the way, which took away from some of the beauty of the place. The nice surprise at the end was laying my eyes upon the Starbucks logo. Oooooooh, Java Chip Frappacino. Yeah!

It took a while for the bus to come that would take me back to Wushe so I could transfer to the bus that would take me to Lushan Hot Springs. I know it sounds complicated; just think if you had to figure this out. When I got to Wushe, I took some pictures of the town while waiting for the other bus to show up. While waiting at the bus stop, a group of elementary school students (looked like 2nd graders to me) and their teachers appeared. I thought at first they might be
The Goats of Chingjing Farm The Goats of Chingjing Farm The Goats of Chingjing Farm

Near the outdoor stage where people can feed the goats, big speakers were blaring the James Bond movie theme. WHY?
going on a field trip, but as me and the children got on, and the teachers didn't, I realized they were just going home. Soon after the bus started one of the little boys (he's probably the student that when he doesn't show up for school the teachers are relieved) started to ask me all sorts of questions... in Chinese. They quickly understood I didn't speak Chinese, but they kept asking me questions anyway. Soon some of them got bored and went to the back of the bus with the rest of their friends. Three of them remained. One of them touched the hair on my hand. Asian men don't have much or any body hair. I was the freak show specimen. Sure, tour buses go through this town all the time, but they never stop, so they most likely never, if ever, see a foreigner, much less a white guy. At one point the three of them were staring at my face. I'm not sure what they were even looking at. My eyes, my skin color, hair color. They were totally mesmerized. Then as soon as they came they left. And I continued my trip to Lushan Hot Springs.

I arrived in Lushan thinking the hot springs were a public facility set in the mountains and somewhat private. What Lushan was was a crowded mess of hotels and spas. Not exactly serene. Eventually, I found a spa and took a nice, long, hot soak. The price was a mere $9 and worth every penny.

I got back on the bus to head back to Puli for the transter back to Taichung. Unexpectingly, the driver went the other direction and headed up the mountain. The scenery was beautiful, and the road full of switchbacks, but I wasn't sure if I was going to get back to Taichung. I kept pointing to the map and saying "Puli, Puli" and the driver and other passengers kept nodding their heads. So I sat back in my seat, resigned to the fact that I didn't have much choice. I crossed my fingers and hoped that, some how, some where, I was on my way to Puli. Thankfully, the bus did stop at the top of the mountain and turn around. On the way down the mountain it began to rain. The driver had one hand on the steering wheel and the other dailing his cell phone all the while going left and right down the twisty road, a road at times which didn't have any guardrails. At least I was finally going in the right direction.

The rest of the trip was uneventful and I arrived back in Taichung around 8:30pm. Needless to say, I got a good night's rest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My Private Hot Springs TubMy Private Hot Springs Tub
My Private Hot Springs Tub

Only $9 for a soak, hot and cold.
Wushe Temple DragonWushe Temple Dragon
Wushe Temple Dragon

Don't know what it's for, but it sure is colorful.


27th June 2007

FASCINATING!
Paul, I give you a lot of credit for bravely forging into unknown territory! What an adventure! I'm jealous! And thank you for sharing this so eloquently with us!
28th June 2007

Brave Man!
I never knew how brave you were. Now I feel like I can ask anything of you and you can do it. Sounds like a beautiful place. Beverly

Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb