Negombo beach town (Sri Lanka - part 1)


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Negombo
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A boat on the beach in Negombo A boat on the beach in Negombo A boat on the beach in Negombo

On my first day in Sri Lanka, I saw a picture of this boat on one of the postcards. Two days later, I saw it in reality at the beach.
When I booked my flights to Sri Lanka, I thought I would visit Colombo for a few days during my Lunar New Year holiday. After reading blogs and advice in the travel forums, I realized that one should not miss the ancient cities in the Cultural Triangle and it's better for tourists to stay in Negombo beach town. It's located 15km away from the Bandaranaike international airport and it takes about 20 minutes to get there by taxi. One of the reasons for skipping Colombo capital city is that the accommodation there is more expensive, plus busy traffic, longer distance from the airport (one hour drive) and also not much to see.

I had two options before my arrival in Sri Lanka. If I felt well, I would take a local bus to Dambulla (one of the cities in the Cultural Triangle). If not, I would go to Negombo and relax for a day there, then hire a car and driver to visit the ancient cities up north. Problem is that I traveled alone on this trip, so I couldn't afford hiring a car for many days. Also, the sightseeing ticket is not cheap, US$10-25 for each site, or US$60-70 if you buy a pass for all the sites. The average price for a room in the Cultural Triangle is expected about US$25-40/night. Certainly, you can go in a cheaper way, by local bus (but it's tiring and uncomfortable), or by motorbike with a local driver.

13 February 2010 - I arrived in Sri Lanka at 7:30am. The first thing I wanted to do was to check out car rental and a boy at the tourist information counter recommended me to a man, who was working for one of the travel agents at the airport. He suggested me some options, but the price was too high, so I decided to go to Negombo and hire a car from there. I was very tired after a sleepless night in Kuala Lumpur, so I needed to find a place to relax for a day. These were my first culture shocks outside the arrival hall of the airport. The man at the travel agent followed me all the time and he offered me different prices. I asked a girl at the information office, but she didn't say anything. I wanted to change a new note for my collection, the man who changed my money said "I'm busy", although it took him a few seconds to do so. When I asked people about free shuttle bus, they said "Yes - No - You must go by taxi or tuk tuk. I have tuk tuk etc" and I was absolutely confused.

You may say I should take a taxi (1,300 rupees, about US$12) or tuk tuk (700 rupees). That would be an easy choice, but I wanted to experience a local bus, and it was my only chance to do so. Finally, after asking a few more people, I could find a free shuttle bus, which went to the main bus station in Katunayake town, then I changed to another bus to Negombo (only 50 rupees). It was an interesting experience. The bus was old and it stopped every few minutes, so that people could get into and out of it. At least I had a seat while holding my backpack. From the bus station in Negombo town to the Silver Sands Hotel, I got a tuk tuk and it cost me 200 rupees. So, after going by 2 buses and 1 tuk tuk from the airport, I arrived at my guest house
The beach in Negombo townThe beach in Negombo townThe beach in Negombo town

View from restaurant at the rear of the Silver Sands Hotel in the town. It was so beautiful here with the sound of waves.
in Negombo, and the total cost was only 250 rupees (US$2.5).

The Silver Sands Hotel was full on that day, so I went to the next guest house named "Jeero". There were 4 rooms on the second floor and the house owners live down stairs. They were so friendly to me and I didn't need to show them my passport. They said they considered me as a family member. The room at their guest house was inexpensive, 1,300 rupees (US$12) per night, with fan, mosquito net and bathroom. At least I had a room, as it was the peak season for tourists, and difficult to find a place to stay in the same area.

So, I experienced 30 hours without sleep and moving from Hanoi to Negombo by plane, bus, train, motorbike and tuk tuk. Just a few hours later, all the tuk tuk drivers along the street knew me. They approached me to say hello and offer me a ride. I walked along the street, found a nice souvenir shop to buy postcards, passed by a church, checked out some restaurants and booked a one day car and driver to Sigirya and Dambulla next day.

As Sri Lanka is one and a half hours behind Vietnam, when the people in Vietnam celebrated New Year's Eve at 12pm, it was 10:30pm in Negombo. I fell into sleep before 10:00pm and heard the sound of fire crackers somewhere in the town, perhaps a Chinese family living there celebrated their lunar new year.

15 & 16 February 2010 - I spent two more days in the town doing nothing. After running around for 3 days, I decided it was time to relax and enjoy walking along the beach or talking with fishermen. I also went to Bodirajarama Temple in the town and this is a warning for you. Unless you are willing to donate your money, then you can take the offer from a monk there. He will approach you and be friendly, show you a room with some Buddha statues and open a note book with a column "donation" and you will be in the position of having to donate your money. He will also give you his name card with email address, so that you can contact him if you want him to organize a tour. I went there with a local driver, who is a Christian, and he said I didn't need to pay for anything. As always, I prefer giving my money to help poor people instead of donating it to a religious work. Most people, who live in the area of my guest house, are Christians and there is a church on the same street. At 5am every morning, I heard the sound of praying from a mosque and I also talked to a Muslim who sells souvenirs. It means, there are Buddhists, Christians and Muslims in Negombo.

Some highlights during my stay in Negombo: walking along the beach in the morning, talking with fishermen, my guest house owner (a 73-year-old man) and tuk tuk drivers to learn about their lives, visiting my favorite restaurant and chatting with an artist who helped me during my stay.

Travel tips: Other than the beach and temple, you can visit fish market and do a boat tour. An hour boat ride costs 3,000 rupees (US$28). I went back to the international airport from Negombo by a rental car and it cost me US$10 (or 1,200 rupees). If you want to go by local bus from Negombo, there are not many routes for you to
Bodirajarama High TempleBodirajarama High TempleBodirajarama High Temple

According to a monk, this Buddha was presented from Myanmar.
choose. The bus to Kandy is available, but if you go to Anuradhapura, you must change your bus in Kurunegala town. It takes a lot of time to travel by bus in Sri Lanka.

Other blogs about my trip to Sri Lanka:

Sigiriya & Dambulla (Sri Lanka - part 2)

My experience & impressions (Sri Lanka - part 3)

Negombo - Ngày 13-17/2/2010

Negombo là một thành phố nhỏ ở phía tây Sri Lanka, ngay bên bờ biển Ấn Độ Dương. Khách du lịch thường chọn thành phố này để trọ vì ở đây có nhiều khách sạn giá rẻ, các đại lý du lịch và quan trọng nhất là vì gần sân bay quốc tế Bandaranaike (15km, 20 phút bằng taxi). Theo lời khuyên của mọi người, tôi quyết định không đến Colombo vì khách sạn ở đó không nhiều, giá lại đắt, giao thông tấp nập, không có nhiều nơi để thăm quan và ở xa sân bay (cách 1 tiếng đồng hồ đi bằng xe ô tô).

Sáng ngày 13/2, sau khi máy bay hạ cánh xuống sân bay quốc tế Bandaranaike, tôi đi khảo giá thuê xe ô tô ở một đại lý du lịch ngay bên ngoài sân bay, nhưng giá họ đưa ra
King coconuts (the yellow ones)King coconuts (the yellow ones)King coconuts (the yellow ones)

View from window of my guest house in the town.
quá cao. Tôi quyết định đi đến Negombo để tìm một nơi trọ và nghỉ ngơi một ngày rồi tính tiếp. Sau một đêm không ngủ ở sân bay LCCT tại Kuala Lumpur, tôi rất mệt và không thể đi đâu ngay được. Ra ngoài cổng sân bay, tôi tìm xe buýt màu trắng là xe chở khách miễn phí đến một bến xe lớn ở Katunayake, rồi chuyển sang xe buýt khác đi Negombo, giá vé rất rẻ, chỉ có 50 rupees. Xe buýt này rất cũ và cứ vài phút xe lại dừng một lần để mọi người lên xuống. Xung quanh tôi toàn là người dân địa phương, càng ngày càng đông người hơn. Ít nhất tôi cũng có một chỗ ngồi và phải ôm chiếc ba lô của mình. Xe dừng ở bến xe Negombo và tôi đi bằng xe tuk tuk về nhà trọ, giá 200 rupees. Như vậy là từ sân bay đến nhà trọ Jeero ở Negombo, tôi chỉ mất 250 rupees (US$2,5), rẻ hơn nhiều so với đi bằng taxi (1.300 rupees) hay tuk tuk (700 rupees). Tuy nhiên, bạn phải kiên nhẫn và có thời gian khi đi bằng phương tiện công cộng, vì ở ngoài cửa đến của sân bay quốc tế, mọi người sẽ nói với bạn là không có xe đi Negombo và bạn phải đi bằng taxi hay tuk tuk. Sau đó thì họ sẽ mời chào bạn nhiều loại dịch vụ và bạn sẽ cảm thấy bị nhiễu bởi nhiều thông tin sai lệch.

Sau khi có một phòng trọ ở Negombo với giá là 1.300 rupees/đêm, tôi đi ăn trưa và ngắm nhìn phong cảnh biển. Tôi đã trải qua 30 tiếng đồng hồ không ngủ và di chuyển từ Hà Nội đến Negombo bằng đủ các loại phương tiện như máy bay, xe buýt, tàu, xe máy và tuk tuk. Buổi chiều, tôi đi dạo dọc khu phố nhỏ gần nhà trọ. Đầu tiên, tôi đi mua bưu ảnh và đồ lưu niệm, sau đó thì tìm hàng ăn và đặt xe đi thăm 2 thành phố cổ ở khu Tam giác văn hoá là Sigirya và Dambulla vào ngày hôm sau. Đêm ngày 13/2 là giao thừa ở Việt Nam. Thời gian ở Sri Lanka chậm hơn Việt Nam một tiếng rưỡi. Khi Việt Nam đón giao thừa vào lúc 12 giờ đêm thì ở Negombo là 10 giờ rưỡi, nhưng tôi mệt quá nên đã đi ngủ trước lúc đó. Tôi cũng có nghe thấy tiếng pháo của người Trung Quốc, nhưng họ đón giao thừa sớm hơn Việt Nam một tiếng đồng hồ.

Chiều ngày 14/2, tôi đến thăm đền Bodirajarama. Cũng như ở các ngôi đền khác, bạn phải bỏ mũ và dép trước khi vào đền. Nhà sư ở đây cũng làm kinh doanh bằng cách tiếp cận khách du lịch và thân thiện với họ, sau đó thì yêu cầu họ cúng tặng tiền vào thùng công đức và ghi vào sổ, rồi đưa cả danh thiếp để nếu cần tổ chức tour thì nhà sư sẽ sắp xếp. Tôi nghĩ là họ nên bán vé thăm quan để xem mấy bức tượng Phật thì tốt hơn. Tại Negombo có nhà thờ thiên chúa giáo, nhà thờ hồi giáo và đền thờ của đạo Phật, tuy nhiên khu vực nơi tôi trọ thì chủ yếu là giáo dân và tôi thấy bàn thờ Chúa ở góc phòng hoặc trước cửa. 5 giờ sáng mỗi ngày lại nghe thấy tiếng ê a cầu kinh của người hồi
Sri Lanka's FlagSri Lanka's FlagSri Lanka's Flag

Image of a yellow lion on the flag.
giáo tại nhà thờ của họ ở cùng trong khu vực đó. Nếu bạn thích thăm quan thêm thì có thể đến thăm chợ cá hoặc đi thuyền buồm, 3.000 rupees (28 US$) một giờ đồng hồ.

Ngày 15 & 16/2, tôi dành trọn vẹn 2 ngày ở Negombo chỉ để nghỉ ngơi. Sau 3 ngày chạy vòng quanh khắp mọi nơi để đi từ Hà Nội đến Kuala Lumpur, rồi bay đến Negombo và thuê xe đi một ngày thăm 2 thành phố cổ, tôi cảm thấy rất mệt mỏi. Trong 2 ngày ở Negombo, tôi đi dạo trên bờ biển, ngắm nhìn những chiếc thuyền buồm, trò chuyện với người dân địa phương và hiểu thêm được nhiều điều về cuộc sống của họ. Biển ở Negombo rất đẹp và dưới ánh nắng rực rỡ, tôi có cảm giác như cả bầu trời và nước biển là một màu xanh ngắt và không thể xanh hơn được nữa. Phía xa xa thấp thoáng những cánh buồm và dọc theo đường bờ biển là những chiếc lán nhỏ dựng tạm của ngư dân đang ngồi gỡ lưới đánh cá. Ngang qua nhà thờ là tiếng nhạc du dương. Cuộc sống ở đây rất thanh bình, nhà nào cũng xây rộng rãi với vườn cây, mọi người có thể đi tắm biển hoặc chơi thể thao ở ngay gần nhà mình. Ở đây cũng có rất nhiều cây dừa có quả màu vàng mà người dân ở đó gọi là "Dừa lửa" (King coconut). Negombo rất khác với thủ đô Colombo và các thành phố lớn, vì ở đây người ta sống chậm rãi và thanh bình hơn.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

Bus station in Katunayake townBus station in Katunayake town
Bus station in Katunayake town

After a free shuttle bus ride from the int'l airport to this bus station, I took another bus to Negombo beach town. The local buses in Sri Lanka are old, but as you see, they look so colorful.
Warning: Remove your hat and shoesWarning: Remove your hat and shoes
Warning: Remove your hat and shoes

Before getting into the main hall of a temple.
A church in Negombo townA church in Negombo town
A church in Negombo town

Near my guest house there are both church and mosque. At 5am I heard the sound of praying from the mosque. Most locals living in the tourist area in Negombo are Christians.


25th February 2010

Sri Lanka
Thanks for your detailed travelog, which is very adventuresome. It is a good guidance specially for budjet travellers on solo trip to Sri Lanka.
25th February 2010

Sri Lanca
It is very interesting to have this insight into the travel experiences of a Vietnamese woman travelling alone. Thanks also for the nice pics.
27th February 2010

Full of info
Hi Ha, I was planning to go to Sri Lanka this September for 1 week. I was going into the travelblog link to check some trabel info and was very surprised and happy to find your info on Sri lanka. What a coincidence. Your post really gives us a very detailed information what you have experienced in your travel. I am looking forward to your next part of the Sri Lanka travel story. Happy Tet by the way.
24th March 2010

Thanks for visit
I'm a Sri Lankan, actually it's really interesting about your self traveling to Sri Lanka.. i hope everyone would enjoyed their time in Sri Lanka.. still many things you missed in Sri lanka, i just hope government should support tourists, which is reduce the taxes and low down the payments, and increase the facilities for foreigners.. again thank you for your pictures... welcome again
24th March 2010

Transport system should be improved
Thank you for your comment. I wish Sri Lanka could set up a good tourist bus system like in Vietnam and Thailand. This would help us move around major tourist sites easily at reasonable prices. The public bus is too slow and uncomfortable, while car rental is US$90/day, so I couldn't travel too far. The visa fee of US$45 is a big amount too. When I visited Nepal, within my 10 day stay, I paid only US$25 for a visa. Hotels at the Cultural Triangle between US$25-40 may also be expensive for many tourists. Thanks to Air Asia, now we can fly to Colombo in a cheaper way.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb