China town in KL before Chinese New Year


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur » China Town
February 23rd 2010
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

A shop in China townA shop in China townA shop in China town

Lots of things for house decorations during the Chinese New Year are on sale at this shop.
12 February 2010 - My 3rd visit to Kuala Lumpur. I decided to choose Kuala Lumpur instead of Bangkok for connecting my flight to Sri Lanka. Other than cheap flights on Air Asia, there were two more reasons for my visit to Kuala Lumpur this time. I wanted to meet my Malaysian friends and visit China town right before the Chinese New Year. In a couple of days, the Chinese community in Malaysia would celebrate the Year of the Tiger. My flight Hanoi - KL on Air Asia was delayed for 20 minutes, plus much time for immigration and then going to KL Sentral by Aero bus, so my friend had to wait for me for an hour. It was so nice to see someone holding a white paper with my name at the bus terminal. We took Putra train (computer controlled system) to China town and walked around the area. Different with my imagination, there was not much atmosphere of the New Year in the town, except red lanterns outside some shops and a red banner with words "Happy New Year" in Chinese at the entrance gate to the town. It was so hot and humid on that day, even
Gifts for the Valentine's DayGifts for the Valentine's DayGifts for the Valentine's Day

The first day of the Chinese New Year was also the Valentine's Day, that's why these gifts were sold in China town.
after a little rain. At one section, both Chinese and Indian boys were pulling their movable shops to the night market area, and very quickly, they opened the shops and there were very narrow paths for the visitors to walk through the market.

At 5:30pm, while I was sitting by the main road in front of China town, Leah came and joined us. Both my friends Leah and Yau are Chinese Malaysians and the meeting with them reminded me of my Chinese Bruneian friends, who also cared about me during my trip to Brunei. We had dinner at a Chinese restaurant in the town then took another train to the Twin Towers, so that I could take some photos. I was back to the Air Asia bus terminal at 10pm and went back to LCCT (Low Cost Carrier Terminal). As there were only 5 hours until I checked in for my flight to Colombo, I decided to stay at the airport.

17 February 2010 - On my way back to Vietnam from Sri Lanka, I had to stay for another night in Kuala Lumpur. I went to the Tune Hotel near LCCT to find a room, but the hotel was full on that day. When Leah checked out the room availability 3 months before my trip, a single room cost approx. US$30/night. I should have booked a room in advance. So I had to sit at LCCT for 15 hours until I could get on board for my flight back to Hanoi. At 7pm there was lion dance at LCCT and it got a great attention from all passengers at the airport. Then, at 3am (18 February), some chemical was sprayed in the area, so we all had to get in and out of the hall.

My highlights during the short visit to Kuala Lumpur this time were the moments when I was sitting in front of China town and watching the world go by; meeting with my friends and I was so touched by their care and kindness (not only they showed me around the city and invited me to a dinner, they also bought cake and water for my breakfast, even waited until my bus left the terminal and waved good bye to me at 10pm - thanks again to Leah and Yau); watching the lion dance at LCCT; and seeing new changes in KL in comparison with my first trip many years ago. My next blogs will be about Sri Lanka.

China Town, Twin Towers & LCCT - Ngày 12 & 17/2/2010

Ngày 12/2/2010 - Máy bay hạ cánh xuống sân bay LCCT lúc gần 3 giờ chiều. Tôi nhanh chóng làm thủ tục nhập cảnh rồi bắt xe buýt Aero Bus về KL Sentral. Khi đến gần trung tâm thành phố thì trời mưa và âm u. Một người bạn của tôi đã phải đứng chờ tôi ở đó suốt một tiếng đồng hồ, vì tôi hẹn 3 giờ mà chuyến bay bị trễ, nên mãi 4 giờ chiều tôi mới đến được KL Sentral. Người bạn của tôi cầm tờ giấy có ghi tên tôi và đứng giữa dòng người đông đúc. Rất nhanh chóng, chúng tôi chào nhau và tôi cõng chiếc ba lô to kềnh của mình leo lên loại tàu siêu tốc không người lái do máy tính điều khiển để đến China Town. Chúng tôi đi qua các cửa hàng hoa có bày bán các loại quà cho ngày lễ tình yêu 14/2, các nhà hàng Trung Quốc, ghé thăm 2 cửa hàng có bán các loại đèn lồng và vật trang trí trong nhà vào dịp năm mới. Thời tiết ở KL hôm nay rất nóng và ẩm ướt, chẳng có cây cối trên đường mà chỉ toàn những toà nhà bê tông nên càng nóng hơn.

Đến 5 giờ rưỡi chiều thì tôi quá mệt và ngồi ngay bên đường đối diện cổng vào China Town, ngắm nhìn dòng người và xe cộ tấp nập qua lại. Trên màn hình lớn ở cổng vào khu vực này có các đoạn băng quảng cáo với âm nhạc nên không khí cũng sôi động hơn. Mặc dù là sắp đến ngày năm mới của người Trung Hoa, nhưng không khí ở khu China Town cũng không nhộn nhịp như ở Việt Nam hay Trung Quốc. Một người bạn của tôi là Leah đến nhập hội cùng chúng tôi. Cả Leah và Yau đều là người Malaysia gốc Hoa và họ đã rất nhiệt tình giúp đỡ tôi trong thời gian ngắn ngủi tôi transit qua KL để đến Sri Lanka. Chúng tôi đi qua một dãy phố lớn của China Town. Khi tôi mới đến đây thì chỉ có vài cậu thanh niên đang đẩy
Lion dance at LCCTLion dance at LCCTLion dance at LCCT

LCCT means "Low Cost Carrier Terminal" (Air Asia budget airlines)
những xe hàng của họ ra chợ, nhưng bây giờ khi tôi quay trở lại thì cả khu chợ đã chật kín hàng hoá và chỉ còn một lối đi nhỏ. Đây có thể coi là chợ đêm vì chợ chỉ hoạt động từ khoảng 5 giờ chiều. Chúng tôi ăn tối ở một nhà hàng Trung Hoa và bữa cơm ấm áp này làm cho tôi có cảm giác như bữa cơm tất niên vậy. Ngày mai là 30 Tết ở Việt Nam và tôi sẽ bay sang Sri Lanka, nên tôi hoàn toàn không có chút cảm giác nào về việc chào mừng năm mới, ngoại trừ việc đang ở KL, ngay tại khu China Town.

Sau bữa tối với món cá hấp rất ngon, chúng tôi lại lên tàu đến khu vực toà tháp đôi "Twin Towers" để tôi chụp ảnh. Chúng tôi đi qua khu trung tâm thương mại và ra khoảng sân phía sau, nơi có đài phun nước và vườn cây với rất nhiều người ngồi hóng mát. Đến 9 giờ rưỡi tối, tôi quay lại bến xe buýt để quay lại sân bay LCCT. Theo lời khuyên của hai người bạn, tôi sẽ ngồi chờ ở sân bay 5 tiếng đồng hồ, nên không cần phải thuê phòng. Hôm nay là một ngày thật dài, thức dậy lúc 5 giờ sáng, ra sân bay bằng xe buýt, bay sang KL (3 tiếng đồng hồ), đi xe buýt về KL Sentral, đi tàu cao tốc đến China Town và Twin Towers, mang theo chiếc ba lô rất nặng đi khắp nơi dưới trời nóng bức và cả hai bên vai tôi đều đau nhức, rồi lại quay về sân bay bằng xe buýt và thức suốt đêm để chờ nối chuyến bay đi Colombo.

Ngày 17/2/2010 - Tôi quay trở lại KL trên đường về Hà Nội. Khách sạn Tune Hotel ở gần LCCT đã kín phòng, nên tôi phải ngồi chờ suốt 15 tiếng đồng hồ ở LCCT. Đáng lẽ tôi phải book phòng on-line từ mấy tháng trước, khi đó giá phòng đã là 30 US$/đêm. Khoảng 7 giờ tối thì có múa sư tử ở trong sảnh vào sân bay, sau đó đến 3 giờ sáng thì người ta phun hoá chất vệ sinh môi trường, nên hành khách chờ chuyến bay phải đi ra sân rồi lại vào trong phòng.

Những điều mà tôi thích nhất trong 2 ngày ngắn ngủi ở KL lần này là khoảnh khắc ngồi trên vỉa hè đối diện khu China Town, ngắm nhìn mọi thứ chuyển động xung quanh mình, gặp gỡ hai người bạn thật thân thiện và chu đáo (họ không chỉ dẫn tôi thăm quan thành phố mà còn mời tôi một bữa tối, mua bánh ngọt cho bữa sáng, tặng quà cho tôi và còn chờ cho đến khi xe buýt của tôi rời khỏi bến xe và vẫy chào tạm biệt rồi mới ra về vào lúc 10 giờ đêm), xem múa sư tử bên trong sân bay LCCT và có những trải nghiệm mới sau 3 lần đến thăm Kuala Lumpur. Lần đầu tiên thì tôi đến thăm khu cung điện Hoàng Gia, viện bảo tàng và quảng trường. Lần thứ hai thì tôi trọ ở Bukit Bingtang trên đường từ Brunei về Hà Nội. Lần này thì tôi ghé thăm China Town và thật may mắn có hai người bạn dẫn đường nên biết được nhiều điều mới mẻ hơn.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Lion dance at LCCTLion dance at LCCT
Lion dance at LCCT

On 17 February I had to stay overnight at the airport since the Tune Hotel was full. At 7pm there was lion dance, which got attention of all passengers.
Lanterns at a shopLanterns at a shop
Lanterns at a shop

The yellow lanterns were imported from Vietnam according to my friend Leah.
Night market in China townNight market in China town
Night market in China town

This area is full of shops in the evening.


23rd February 2010

Hi your dream of having a good night rest at Tune Hotel was gone :(
23rd February 2010

The second time at LCCT
I got used to wait for my flights at LCCT - 15 hours without sleep. The first time I was there while waiting for my flight to Brunei, and this time to Sri Lanka.
23rd February 2010

nice report
I love every word, picture and remark of yours. It feels like I'm transported to wherever you are. Your photos make every experience comes to life. T. Yokota
23rd February 2010

travelling
Just wanted to say that this is one of the best sites for travel. Keep up the good work!
23rd February 2010

Excellent
Great description and Photo's....
23rd February 2010

China Town in KL
You are really good at using the stop-over time. I'm expecting your blog on Sri Lanka with much interest that you maybe post soon.

Tot: 0.661s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 36; qc: 177; dbt: 0.1749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb