Acting as the American


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
July 25th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It is nearly lunch break, and I have just spent two hours in the studio.
Korean man sings dramatically, jokingly, then quickly and abruptly explains the jist of whatever theme we are discussing in that unit.
Joke. Joke. Explanation. All in Korean.
Turns to me, makes small talk in decent, but still broken English, and then says - Brie?
And I say my line in English.
"The shark in the movie was swimming around in the seawater."
"The shark in the movie was swimming around in the seawater."

Always twice, and always with an attempt to act out each word in the sentence.
Back to the main camera, as the Korean guy goes on with his long-winded explanations.
It's silly, but actually well done, with subtitles and computer generated graphics added later. I feel as though the man, a manager here at the company, sees me as another foreigner. Bring her on. We need a voice. hehe.

I'm still researching Jejudo, "Island of the three abundances," referring to women, rocks and strong winds.

*more photos of Daegu soon.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb