First slice o' cheeselife


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do » Chuncheon
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My new national geographic wall artMy new national geographic wall artMy new national geographic wall art

Added a few more faces, left out some of the beaten up magazine clippings. Akwardly posted around the light switch.
Will a blog really work out? Is my small life here in South Korea reallly worth a "travel blog" attempt? As much as I occasionally feel like shrugging off my foreigner persona, I know that I will look back on this year in Asia as a sparkling moment, or a test of bravery and self-discipline.
To write self discipline feels a bit militant, or stoic, but living out of context...much on my own, I realize how easy it is to slip into a negligent lifestyle. How many foreigners here began with the same enthusiasm - attempting to learn Korean, absorb the cultural idiosyncrasies *many phrases I use might not make sense, admittedly flaky with my wording* and find themselves stuck on the wall. Drunk with other foreigners, nonchalant with traveling. This, of course, is simply my own interpretation of the uninspired whities around me. Meanwhile, I've clung to a few Korean friends who have been so sweet. But hard to read.
My life in clips and phrases:
Each day I walk past at least four traditional Korean restaurants on the one-minute walk to work. The sewer right next to my building has sectioned off ten feet of continuous
New studio apartment...provided by my company.New studio apartment...provided by my company.New studio apartment...provided by my company.

Which means that I'm not really an adult yet. I'm not paying my own rent. This digital camera was $90, and the quality shows it, but! I'm saving up. So once I feel artistic and confident, I might have enough money, and it won't be such an eye-strain for those who recognize well-captured moments. :)
fish-poop-mold stink which abruptly changes into Korean cooking. As I'm walking to work, behind me the small mountains peep out of fog *it's been the rainy season (jangma) for the past two weeks*

Next week, when all of my hag won (school) goes on vacation I'll be exploring Jejudo, Cheju Island...the large Korean/ancient Mongolian Korean island, which is known for its past matriarchal families and its tangerines. SOoooo much more to say about Jejudo and it's history, but I'll get to that in the next blog. I'm heading there alone for four days - but I'll be taken care of by a English-speaking tour guide and hopefully meet some lovely English-speakers.

Thanks for reading, and please feel free to write anything, in anyway. Email, comment, facebook. I have so much time right now, and I desperately want to stay in contact...continuous contact with friends.
Here's to an attempt at the electronic travel journal. Ahem, abroad journal.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb