Week 9-11: Halloween and My Brithday


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last few weeks have been good. I've been keeping busy during the weekends with Halloween and my birthday back-to-back. My classes are going really well. I've got a pretty solid structure to each of my lessons, so I only have to think of a different activity for each day. The week leading up to Halloween all of my lesson were about Halloween. I taught the kids a little bit about its history and some of the monsters associated with it. I made up a game about zombies. One student started out as "the zombie" and slowly turned other students until there was no one left. It worked really well and the kids really liked it. I only had one injury, which is pretty good for my more physical activities.

For Halloween I went to Seoul with Ryan. Our friends Jenny and Kara had a house party. It was fun. I met a lot of new people. We had pizza, played games, and attempted to carve a pumpkin with the wrong kind of knives. I went as Wolverine from the X-Men. For my claws I bought gloves from a sports store and shoved chopsticks down the fingers. It actually worked pretty well. Unfortunately my hair is too curly, so I couldn't get it to look right. I fixed it as best I could, but it ended up looking like an 80's mullet.

For my birthday this weekend I was back in Seoul for part of Saturday. Things were almost a mess. Ryan and I were having a hard time getting a hold of each other and plans kept changing. I was supposed to meet him in Seoul Saturday at 4. I came in with my friend Melinda. We were running a little late, and then our bus was slow too becuase of traffic. We didn't get to the meeting place until almost 5. Ryan thought we weren't coming and was getting ready to leave. Luckily we ran into him in the subway station (he just happened to be waiting to get on the same train we were getting off)! Once we found him we went to the upscale part of town for burgers. After that we saw the new James Bond movie, which came out here two weeks before it released in the states.

Tonight I have to have another open house. I was told on Friday that the principle and all of the administrators were coming to my house Monday night. I don't have anything ready, but it should at least be pretty clean. Hopefully it won't last very long, Monday nights I normally just want to relax after my weekend.

I'll put up some pictures as soon as I get a chance.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb