Weeks 12-14: Fall


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last few weeks have been pretty routine. My school asked me to take on some extra classes until Christmas break to help the 6th graders review their English. They wanted me to do four, but that was way too many so I agreed to do two. 6th grade is definitely my least favorite grade so I've been less than excited about it. They haven't been too bad so far, but they cut into a large portion of my planning time in the afternoon. I'll be relieved to get them all finished. The rest of my classes have been going pretty well. The kids are a lot of fun to work with and most of them have really good attitudes.

It's been weird not being at home the last few weeks especially with my birthday and Thanksgiving and Christmas coming up. I completely forgot last Thursday was Thanksgiving until Wednesday night. Obviously they don't celebrate it here. I went out with one of my friends for Pizza Thanksgiving night, but other than that there wasn't a lot of celebrating. This weekend I met up with some friends in Seoul for a semi-Thanksgiving lunch. We had chili and apple pie. It
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

My "Birthday Party" with my co-teacher and a few of the ladies from the office at my school. They insisted on getting me a cake
wasn't turkey, but it was nice to have someone to hang out with. I also got my first hair cut since I've been here. I was really nervous. Hair styles here are very flamboyant. Long bangs, bowl cuts, mullets...their all still in style here. On top of that no one has curly hair, so they didn't really know what to do with me. At the end of the day it didn't turn out too bad. I had to trim my bangs myself with kitchen sheers at home, but other than that it wasn't too bad.

Not a whole lot else to say really. Day to day life is pretty boring. I'm really excited for winter break. I booked my ticket to Japan this week. Hopefully I'll update once more before Christmas.

OH and I'll stop being lazy and post some pictures this time.




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Random Korean celebrity at a book signing in a Mall in Seoul
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

A children's author signing books
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

A very creepy statue at the mall in Seoul
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

This was part of a TV commercial at a coffee shop...I don't even want to know what they were trying to promote
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

The mascot for a Korean theme park
n122700703 33705181 6048n122700703 33705181 6048
n122700703 33705181 6048

This is a statue from a Catholic church close to downtown Wonju (my city)


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb