The trip with John and Belinda


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

we travelled Mt. Palgong again. we set off this trip from Mr. John's house at Dae-yul village in Gun-wi. I drove them to Mt. Palgong by my car. I made a travelling guide for them to travel safely.
we went to get on the cable car in Mt. Palgong. owing to the cable car, we could go up swiftly to hill top and we could see Dae-gu downtown as well as the land scape of this mountain on the hill top. we had a coffee break at outdoor cafe on hill top of this mountain. with feeling a fresh air and a breeze wind, looking a greenery scape and tasting a good coffee at there. we talk about how to teach kids in their class, the nature of this mountain and so on.
we went down to go other place, the bronze-ware museum in Mt. Palgong area. the fare of this museum is free. In the past time, we, korean used bronze as living material-bowl, ware, spoon, pitcher, chopstick, cup and musical instrument. especially, the royal family and the upper class of Josen dynasty(1392-1910) used this metal instead of gold due to an expense and rarity of gold. we just looked around this museum. It was perfectly impossible of me to explain in English the procedure of making bronze ware in the korean traditional smithy. Belinda has much curiosity to the dragon ornament of bronze ware for king.
we had "bibimbap"(the rice with boiled ground beef, herbal weeds and sliced vegetables) for lunch at a korean restaurant in restaurant area, Mt. Palgong. I and Belinda ate "bibimbap" clearly, but John left some. and Belinda ate a hot "kimchi" better than me, but John have a difficulty to have a hot "kimchi".
after lunch, we stopped by a temple in Mt. Palgong. the temple is very historical but architectures of this temple are reconstructed. on our way to this temple, we were bombed by a sudden and unexpected shower. It made us perplex and wet and made our trip more exciting. we looked around the temple in falling rains. and we made three bows together in the main house. when return to parking lot from the temple. we fought with heavy rain and thunder. the weather was very changeable. suddenly, clean weather changed heavy cloud and heavy rain. our clothes and shoes perfectly wet.
I drove my car to Dae-gu downtown, the nearer we drove to downtown, the clearer the sky changed. we took a rest beside of the Suseung pond, and dried our wet clothes and shoes. but Belinda was looked very tired. and we took a coffee at cafeteria nearby pond.
before watching movie"mummy3", we went to restaurant, TGI Friday, to have dinner. thanks to John, I had a Aussie beef steak with coke. It was very soft, tender and good taste. the beef is not american(amen!). there is no mad cow in Australia(amen!).
after dinner, we walked to cinema M(theatre) in broadcasting station, Dae-gu. this theatre have the biggest movie screen in south Korea and good sound system. "Mummy3" was mixed with the historical truth and fiction. It was interesting and funny to me. after watching cinema, we went back to Gun-wi at late night by my car. It was a long day filled with joy, adventure and somewhat fatigue.

It is my good fortune in my life to know them. although I just travelled with you second time, that trips are very useful and joyful to me. I will miss the trip with them in my life.
DAEGU 029DAEGU 029DAEGU 029

the korean traditional smithy in Bronze museum
In the far future, when I will be the old man with white hair, if I will might write about my life on the comfortable chair after my retirement. this trip with them will be a part of my life stories.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

DAEGU 034DAEGU 034
DAEGU 034

we had "Bibimbap" as lunch
DAEGU 064DAEGU 064
DAEGU 064

Belinda and me in the rain-fall.
DAEGU 072DAEGU 072
DAEGU 072

in TGI Friday restaurant in Dae-gu downtown.
palgongsan02palgongsan02
palgongsan02

My John in the cable car.
palgongsan039palgongsan039
palgongsan039

what a strong John!
palgongsan049palgongsan049
palgongsan049

temple in rain.
palgongsan052palgongsan052
palgongsan052

I looked at the falling rain.
palgongsan059palgongsan059
palgongsan059

Suseong pond.
palgongsan060palgongsan060
palgongsan060

an airplane landed beside of the pond? It is airplane cafeteria.
John and BelindaJohn and Belinda
John and Belinda

John and Belinda in Tiroll cafe in Mt. Palgong.
John and me in  rain dropsJohn and me in  rain drops
John and me in rain drops

Heavy rain attacked us.


15th August 2008

A Good Day
Hi Big Brother,- Thank you again for a good day around Daegu. It was interesting to see the radar station from the top and looking down into Daegu from cable car. It was fun: even getting caught in the thunder shower at the temple. John

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.124s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb