Day 09: Daegu City Tour (Oct 2019)


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
October 19th 2019
Published: October 14th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 19th October 2019

My final day in South Korea was spent in the city of Daegu, some 93km or 45 minutes via the fastest train service from Busan Station. The main objective of visiting Daegu was to experience a ride on the country's fastest KTX train network. And it helped that the local tourism office was offering some inexpensive 10,000 Won daily tours departing from Dongdaegu Station. During the journey to Daegu, I was offered a mikan (orange) from one of the nice Korean ladies seated next to me.

I managed to secure a tour slot on Saturday morning that covers the Bullodong Ancient Tomb Park, Palgongsan and the Donghwa Temple among others. Lunch was not included in the itinerary but the guide recommended some inexpensive restaurants along the foot of Palgongsan which was probably one of the best meals I had for lunch over the past few days. After lunch, I was lucky to witness the beginning of autumn foliage at a public park near the mountains. Following a visit to a local ceramic museum, the tour ended sometime at 5pm in the evening where I caught the next available train back to the city of Busan.

My final dinner in Busan brought me to the doorsteps of Jagalchi Market where a huge feast of sashimi was presented right in front of me. Needless to say, this was a prefect ending to my week-long trip in South Korea.

I will be back soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb